PDA

View Full Version : Tau or Space Marines?

Far Seer
06-11-2008, 09:44
Hi i'm just getting into warhammer and i havn't got an army yet and i'm wondering if someone could help me out. (i'm noob) Of all the races i've seen in 40k, i liked the look of the Tau Empire and Space marines. I'm wondering wat army to choose and i really can't decide, tau have good ranged firepower but lack in close combat, space marines are versatile in ranged and close combat.
And please recommend the sets i should get.
If possible is there a box set with space marines fighting against tau?
i've seen a box set called assault on black reach and it look's pretty cool, but problem is i don't really like orks

alphastealer
06-11-2008, 10:15
I would go for Tau if I were you. Marine players are like flies. There is always one around. Tau are a more focused army that require a little more finesse to use well. That being said they have the best guns in the game and their basic trooper can drop any infantry model at 30 range.

Marines now have too much stuff (thanks to the new dex) and unless you know what you are doing you will end up buying a whole lot of stuff you might never use. Tau have less model variety but are still very versatile in weapon loadouts and infantry vs mech.

Tau players get more respect and are generally nicer people. They also tend to have hotter girlfriends.

El'Flashman
06-11-2008, 10:40
Tau players get more respect and are generally nicer people. They also tend to have hotter girlfriends.

Lol... we wish. Going by Warseer Tau players are generally hated, but I've found a mostly positive reception to my own Tau army. TBH it's all a matter of taste as to which army you choose. You really ought to choose your army by how much it inspires you, as opposed to play mechanics. I have both Tau and Marines and I can tell you that I find a victory with Tau takes more finesse and is a hell of a lot more satisfying.