PDA

View Full Version : Ogre Sized character in infantry unit



000000000000000
15-11-2008, 08:56
Howdy folks.

i was wanting to place Throgg the troll king in a unit of marauders!

however i just read the entire rule book searching for an answer and there is none!

how does this work?

how does rank bonus work with different base size models in the same unit.

they need 5 to make a rank and the back 2 ranks are 5 but the front ranks are not however the rules clearly state that except for the rearmost rank every rank must be the same size.

GW must have answered this question in a QA by now? does anyone know where i can find an official ruling on this?

DeathlessDraich
15-11-2008, 10:00
Sorry this is being discussed in 2 other threads.

Griefbringer
15-11-2008, 10:01
If you are playing with 6th edition rulebook, the official Q&A covering topic can be found at least in the Warhammer Chronicles 2004, page 113.

If you are playing 7th edition, then there is no official Q&A for that rulebook. Instead, you get a whole interwebs worth of long threads debating topic back and forth, such as this one:

http://warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=170658

EvC
15-11-2008, 14:13
Sorry this is being discussed in 2 other threads.

This is actually the fifth thread on the first page that is asking this question.

This is getting beyond a joke- duplicate threads are bad, but quintlicate? Time to start deleting them please, mods :)

Devon Harmon
15-11-2008, 14:22
Do we know what size base Throgg is on? I'd assume either 40mm or 50mm, but between the two, I'm not sure which.

Ganymede
15-11-2008, 16:14
He's the same size as other trolls, 40mm. That size would make him just a touch awkward to position in a unit of marauders, though it could be done.

bob9876
21-11-2008, 20:26
why not use the US?

nosferatu1001
21-11-2008, 21:00
Because US has nothing to do with determining rank bonus, it is strictly number of models.

As has been said - can mods please start locking / deleting these threads? After all, it wont take loing to search, and one thread will answer ANY questions, no matter if its throgg / palanquin / daemonic mount etc....

goodz
23-11-2008, 06:55
as the rule is rather unclear I would ask your group or whoever you are playing against first. We are generally fairly flexible with this issue in my group...

Kalec
23-11-2008, 08:35
The short answer is that a unit needs to be 5 models wide, i.e. Throgg and 4 marauders, to claim rank bonus. The back ranks are also going to be 5 models wide. Yes, this means that Throgg is going to jut out awkwardly, but thats how it works.