PDA

View Full Version : [VC] Thoughts on Ethereal units

Walls
24-11-2008, 04:27
Today I picked up a ton of cairn wraiths, banshees and models I can make into spirit hosts if I want. Older models, used, painted. I am stripping them right now.

Anyhow... what are your thoughts on these units? I am fairly new to vampires and from what I have read so far they seem to be a fairly good addition. Just kinda curious as to the veterans players thoughts.

Thanks in advance.

Chiron
24-11-2008, 07:52
In a word... awesome.

The Ethereal ability alone allows them to ignore most opponents heavy artillery and shooting which is the usual bane of skirmishers and fast troops while the large number of attacks and high strength means that a fairly large unit needs to engage them to stand a chance of destroying them using CR.

The banshee's scream attack can also be pretty nasty against armies with an average leadership value and using it in combat is fun too.

Your best use of them is to place them in woods ahead of your troops, then move them out to cut down units that break on your battle line or get a rear charge off so they arent facing enemy characters with magic items

Oberon
24-11-2008, 11:35
If didn't already, consider taking a battle standard in a list with lots of ethereals. They are expensive to heal, and tend not to lose by a lot, BSB will pay itself back when it saves you even one wound.

Lordsaradain
24-11-2008, 12:17
Cairn wraiths are so good I think they are broken. Against armies like empire and orcs and goblins your opponent just doesnt have a chance. Their overpoweredness is made up by the fact that they are virtually useless versus a daemon army, and they are therefore not seen as a tournament competative unit.

Zarahemna
24-11-2008, 13:27
Forget the rest of this stuff, ethereal units look awesome when they are painted well. The fact that they can mince most units with impunity is just extra-awesomeness!

Gokamok
24-11-2008, 14:06