PDA

View Full Version : Bret lance formation question



Wolfden
09-12-2008, 17:31
I recently had a battle with Brettonians and ran into a situation. My friends lance formation hit a unit of mine that already had other enemy units in contact with it. There was physically only enough room on my frontage to accomodate another 3 enemy cavalry models. Is it possible for the lance to still work when there isn't enough room left? This is what it looked like: P=Pegasus, L=Bret Cav, I= Infantry.


PPPLLL
IIIII

narrativium
09-12-2008, 18:23
Rules-wise, yes. If you can charge, you can charge and get the appropriate bonuses for charging (unless you can't). So, the models in a Bretonnian unit who get to attack, get to attack. Those who don't, just contribute towards unit strength and outnumbering.

Lord Dan
09-12-2008, 19:01
The rule is, roughly: "any outside model behind a model who can attack."

As per your diagram, one model can attack in the front of the Lance formation unit. Therefore anyone behind him may attack as well.

Goruax
10-12-2008, 00:08
Yeah, as Lord Dan and narrativium say, the only Lance model who can fight is the far left gu (in the diagram) so only the models behind that one may attack, as per the regular Lance rules.

Tsinner
10-12-2008, 18:56
The lance formation is a deadly rule ..hope they don't change it ?

Lord Dan
10-12-2008, 19:22
I doubt it'll change. It's one of a handful of rules GW seems to be proud of.