PDA

View Full Version : New to warhammer and need help - new -

High speed low drag
18-12-2008, 02:46
Hi, i have been playing 40k white scars for 14 years and have never thought about warhammer so this will be my 1st go at it, the army i going to run with is high elves because i decided i like the models better over the dark elevs i was origonaly planning to collect, so here it is, i am trying to make 1000 points of high elves to start off with and was just wondering what you thought would be a good all round noob army for me with room to expand, thanks

Preacher
18-12-2008, 02:51
..did you have a list in mind? Or did it just not post in here?

High speed low drag
18-12-2008, 03:07
sorry, forgot that usefull information, i was thinking of taking -

unit of 25 spearmen
unit of 25 spearmen
unit of 16 archers
mage lvl 2
5 dragn prices
unit of 15 phonex guard

Kalec
18-12-2008, 03:27
Phoenix guard aren't needed if you are taking big spearmen blocks anyway. Drop them for two units of 7 swordmasters or more dragon princes, and drop the mage for a noble with the reaver bow and a great weapon.

Why are the archers in a unit of 16? 10 is better, and zero is probably best of all. No reason to waste points taking big archer blocks when you have so many better units available.

High speed low drag
18-12-2008, 03:30
i was thinking 2 ranks of 8 archers for the long range firepower and dropping the mage for noble and PG for more DP sounds good

boardbox
18-12-2008, 03:34
Minimize your core and I can't recommend spearman in any other size than 20.

Your phoenix guard are very hard to kill, I think I'd drop a spear block and use the guard instead.

Consider 10 sea guard instead of the archers. Neither unit is particularly good but the HE players I game with prefer the sea guard in this edition.
An edit after seeing your post, HE archers are next to useless. They don't hit often and hard enough for their cost.