PDA

View Full Version : Can DE Cauldron charge?



gortexgunnerson
18-12-2008, 09:32
Just looking at the rules for the cauldron and thinking that it quite an attacking model as crewed by a character and 2 champions. But as the Cauldron and crew are treated as a war machine does this mean that cannot charge an enemy unit as the BRB P84 states that a warmachines crew cannot charge even if frenzied?

Now is this a case of:

The warmachines crew cannot charge i.e. leave the machine but the warmachine can charge ala steam tank?

The cauldron is only treated like warmachine crew but is not, so can charge? Not sure this is very probable but seems to be a common loop hole when ever something is treated as but actually isn't

Or does it mean that it cannot charge and must wait for something to attack it before it gets any combat?

Interested if anyone has a ruling on this, in particular Atrahasis as looking to take a cauldron to AGOM where I assume you are r****** this year?

Thanks in advance

skank
18-12-2008, 09:53
On p84 it says warmachine crews can't charge (special rules of COB say it is a war machine) even if frenzied.
steamtank has specific rule for charging that overturn this but the cauldron does not.

Gazak Blacktoof
18-12-2008, 12:26
If the rules tell you to treat something as something else that's exactly what you do. The model/ unit will follow all the relevant rules being referenced.

As skank says, the cauldron and its crew can't charge because the cauldron and its attendants are treated as a war machine and crew.