PDA

View Full Version : Rank and magical bonus



Napalm
19-12-2008, 10:02
Hello, just a quick question:
for an item using the rank bonus of an unit, is it limited to +3 max as in the combat results? Or a 40 man unit count offer a +8 for exemple?
Thanks in advance.

Condottiere
19-12-2008, 10:51
Specific example? Usually rank bonus is capped at +3.

Shamfrit
19-12-2008, 10:57
It's +3, he's more than likely referring to the various Orc & Goblin items which grow in strength according to rank bonus.

Rank Bonus and equivalent to units ranks is obviously another matter, such as Lokhir's ability, where it's possible for him to get an extra 88 attacks :O

theunwantedbeing
19-12-2008, 10:59
If it says "rank bonus" then it's capped at +3, if it merely says "equal to the number of ranks" then it's not capped....most rank based items are based around rank bonus so are capped at "only" +3.

Rooze
19-12-2008, 11:01
It's +3, he's more than likely referring to the various Orc & Goblin items which grow in strength according to rank bonus.

Rank Bonus and equivalent to units ranks is obviously another matter, such as Lokhir's ability, where it's possible for him to get an extra 88 attacks :O

It is referring to rank BONUS, not to ranks themselves. Since rank BONUS is capped at +3, there's your answer!

markoman
19-12-2008, 12:38
It is referring to rank BONUS, not to ranks themselves. Since rank BONUS is capped at +3, there's your answer!

If he was fighting an empire unit with the Griffon Banner (doubles rank bonus up to +6), would that effect the item as well?

I'm leaning toward 'yes'.

nosferatu1001
19-12-2008, 13:30
Yes - if it is dependent on rank bonus, then it would double to 6. Exception would be if the griffon banenr (or equivalent) is only "active" at specific times, which may exclude the magic item.

Napalm
19-12-2008, 14:13
Thanks,
i was thinking about "Mork's spirit totem", which says:
"the magical banner adds a number of dispel dice to the pool equal to the unit's rank bonus"
So yes it should be 3 at max.

nosferatu1001
19-12-2008, 16:45
Napalm - it iit wouldn't every O&G player would add it to a unit of 100 night goblins to give an extra 20 dispel dice ;)

It clearly says "rank bonus" which is defined clearly as always capping at +3, unless stated otherwise.