PDA

View Full Version : A few VC questions

SMann233
20-12-2008, 03:15
Hey folks, thanks in advance for taking the time to answer these for me.

I'm fairly new to WHFB, but have been playing 40k for sometime now. I picked up VCs as my first army here, and a couple questions have come up at the store, which I cannot get a consensus from the more experienced players on.

1) I know that in order to be able to take a magic weapon or armor piece for a model, you need to have access to the mundane pieces. On a Vampire Lord's profile, he's listed as only having a hand weapon, and does not have specific armor or other weapon upgrades listed there. Rather, they're listed under the Vampiric Powers of Avatar of Death and Dread Knight. In order to take weapons that are marked as a specific weapon type (e.g. Dreadlance, which is listed as "Lance. All attacks from the Dreadlance hit automatically.") must the VLord pay for Dread Knight first? Same question for Magic armors.

If yes, does that mean the combination of Dreadlance, ZDragon, Nightshroud, Red Fury, is impossible? (given that the FAQ states you must use the standard Nightmare if you take Dread Knight - for that matter, only the armor specifically allows an override to DK; can you even swap the lance if its a prereq?)

2) With regard the Nightshroud, what exactly counts as a "chraging bonus"? I personally (as the biased player) contend that it includes not only things such as +2 strength for Lances and other charging rules, but Impact hits and going first in combat. Is that correct?

(Sub question to that - if the model wearing the Nightshroud is by himself - there are *NO OTHER TARGETS POSSIBLE* on the charge, does the charging unit even get its double-distance move?)