PDA

View Full Version : Getting Back Into Fantasy With 2150 of Chaos

Sword of the Morning
21-12-2008, 03:12
So, I've been playing WHFB off and on for ten years or so, but I haven't had a game in about a year and a half. I'm not caught up on the recent developments in the game; indeed, 7th edition itself is still a de facto novelty to me. That being said, I picked up the WoC book today with three goals in mind for my new army:

1) To play an army that I've never played before.

2) To play an army that will allow me to take the big scaries that I've never traditionally fielded.

3) To play an army that I can actually finish painting.

Thus, the following:

Sorcerer Lord of Tzeentch
Level 4
Chariot
The Bronze Armor of Zhrakk
Blood of Tzeentch
Talisman of Protection
Infernal Puppet

Sorcerer of Tzeentch
Level 2
Disk of Tzeentch
The Black Tongue

12 Warriors of Tzeentch
Full Command
Additional Hand Weapons
Shields
Banner of Wrath

18 Marauders of Khorne
Full Command
Great Weapons

18 Marauders of Khorne
Full Command
Great Weapons

5 Chaos Warhounds

5 Chaos Warhounds

6 Knights of Tzeentch
Standard Bearer
Musician

6 Knights of Tzeentch
Standard Bearer
Musician

Chaos Spawn

Giant of Khorne

Total: 2184

Of course, the first issue at hand is that I'm 34 points over. There are places where I can afford to drop points, but I thought that I'd put the question to WarSeer first. So, the aforementioned units constitute my prospective army after having looked at every rule, item, mark, unit, and spell exactly once. The idea is to wage a respectable magic offense between the combined efforts of my two Tzeentchians, supplemented by the Banner of Wrath. Defensively, I have a barely adequate five dice, and I am Scroll-less; but, the Infernal Puppet/Black Tongue combination (which immediately jumped out at me) has the potential to cripple the opponent's casting.