PDA

View Full Version : Need help with the last 171 points

Red_Lep
21-12-2008, 14:24
Old theme/list

stripsteak
21-12-2008, 22:24
I'm new to high elves myself but some thoughts...shouldn't the noble only be 187 with that setup?

with the remaining points a unit of dragon princes could be useful. 5 with banner of elyrion, or 2 tiranoc chariots to give you some speed on the field.

as for banners the seaguard would bennefit from the war banner if you can get the points for it. the whitelions go well with the lion standard it would give you a unit that can garauntee a charge against fear causers.

also for the lions it might be worth trying to run them as 2 units of 6 with no command.

Red_Lep
22-12-2008, 00:00
Yep, your right, the Noble points are off.

I would use the cavalry and chariots I have, but I'm going for a themed list for a Seafaring list so I'll add them later on.

I'll try your advice on trying the WL as 2 units of 6.

madival
22-12-2008, 00:00
You need a second core choice i believe. some archers would be nice. the biggest worry you will have magic blasting your elite units.

Marwynn
22-12-2008, 08:48
No he doesn't need a second core choice, the HE have altered slots.

Two units of Shadow Warriors is way too much. Consider dropping one for a Great Eagle. You should have roughly 200 points free.

Beef up the WL unit to 15, so you have the option to go 5x3 or 7x2+1. Give them the Lion Standard, a Terror-immune Stubborn unit is a nice anvil. What goes in next is up to you.

For the free points you can get a Tiranoc Chariot and perhaps give your LSG the Banner of Ellyrion. Or maybe you want some Fast Cavalry and get some Reavers.

If you're dealing with any magic at this level it's best to have some fast units to bring the fight to the enemy right-quick. HE Magic Defense takes a lot of points and is not something you want to worry about. For instance, that Chicken Noble can deal with such threats rather directly as can a second Great Eagle.