PDA

View Full Version : Orc and goblins Spiteful Shield



grimgors battle buddy
22-12-2008, 15:21
During a friendly game with my orc horde versus the insidious threat of Archaon wanting revenge over his slapping by Grimgor. My mates exalted struck at Grimgor's brother Dimgor but rolled two one's.
The description of the Spiteful Shield states that when an opponent rolls a 1 to hit they suffer a S5 hit. Is this worked out before the opponent rolls to hit or is it resolved after the rolls to wound. It doesn't state in the rules so what are your ideas about this?

Diggidity
:skull:

Drakcore Bloodtear
22-12-2008, 15:33
The way I do it is when he rolls a 1 he get's a st5 hit then he rolls to wound

nosferatu1001
22-12-2008, 16:35
The S5 hit on a "1" is incurred at the same time the character inflicts HIS hits on your model, so they are simultaneous.

You would then roll to wound together, so any hits on your character would wound at the same time as any hits on his character. THis can result in both dying at the same initiative step, which is an unusual occurence!

Braad
22-12-2008, 18:16
I agree with nosferatu. At the moment you roll, and hit something, it is not like that hit never occurred due to damage bacl, so you still need to resolve the to wound roll.

woodulikeanother
08-01-2009, 03:51
i had this same situation, but when i was fighting the empire, his warrior priest got to re-roll his 2 1's because of hatred to all enemies. We worked it out as "not counting as rolling 1's" should he have still taken the 2 str5 hits then re-rolled and if he rolled 1's again take additional hits?

Braad
08-01-2009, 11:56
I would say no. The actual result of a roll is not established until re-rolls happened. Only the final rolls of a 1 count.

nosferatu1001
08-01-2009, 16:43
Until all rerolls have occured you have not rolled a 1.

2nd round he would presumably suffer, as hatred disappears...

woodulikeanother
08-01-2009, 20:26
ok thanks alot