PDA

View Full Version : can varghulf join ghouls unit?



woodulikeanother
08-01-2009, 03:37
in the VC book above the Varghulf rules it says that varghulfs are known for joining mobs of ghouls...but it doesnt say they can or cant in the rules...it would be nice if they could. Does anyone know?

Mr.chair
08-01-2009, 05:17
That'd be a no. Monsters can't join units, only characters can (I'm waiting fro the barage of exceptions to the rule now...).

Lordmonkey
08-01-2009, 07:21
I'm waiting fro the barage of exceptions to the rule now...

/Nerdy voice:

Um, ummmm! What about Kholek Suneater? Galrauch? And don't forget ridden monsters!

/End Nerdy voice

Generally speaking, one unit cannot join another. The exception is characters.

TheDarkDaff
08-01-2009, 08:19
Monsters always fight individually; they can never join other models to form a unit, except when they are ridden by a character.

Are Kholek and Galrauch ridden by a Character? If not then they can't join units unless they have a specific exemption to allow them to do so.

You also need to look at pg72 to get the bit below

Characters mounted on flying creatures cannot join units.It's not relevant to the Vargulf case but useful to remember.

Lordmonkey
08-01-2009, 10:13
Are Kholek and Galrauch ridden by a Character? If not then they can't join units unless they have a specific exemption to allow them to do so.

They are both characters and, as some have argued, may or may not be monsters because of this. Kholek has a rule that says he cannot join units, but Galrauch does not...

Condottiere
08-01-2009, 11:25
Galrauch is safe, since he's big and flies.

EvC
08-01-2009, 14:55
Are Kholek and Galrauch ridden by a Character? If not then they can't join units unless they have a specific exemption to allow them to do so.

Yes but according to the other thread, those big monster things should not be considered to be monsters. Yes, madness :D

Neckutter
08-01-2009, 15:56
the first chaos dragon being classified as a monster? pfft! its obvious that only dragons with one head are classed as monsters. obviously.


on a related note: no a varghulf cannot join any unit.