View Full Version : Mark of Nurgle characters in units

08-01-2009, 15:55
If a Character with Mark of Nurgle joins a unit does his Mark of Nurgle affect shooting directed at it?

For example, a Nurgle Sorceror in a unit of Chaos Warrior with the Mark of Khorne being shot at by Empire Handgunners at short range. Would they be hit on 4+ or 5+?

08-01-2009, 16:09
I can't find anything in the book that says no.

Id say yes.

08-01-2009, 17:07
when you shoot you target the unit, and not the character.
if the character is in the unit, he isnt being targeted=his MoN doesnt kick in.

08-01-2009, 17:10
So would this apply to magic missles vs magic resistance as well? ie would a character with a MR of 2 allow a unit targeted by a magic missile roll on extra 2 dice to dispel it even though there is 0 chance the character will be effected?

lord mekri
08-01-2009, 17:16
regardng MR, the rules for that specifically state if a character has it, it will beinfit any unit he joins. i dont have my rule book with me, but will post a page number when i can.

08-01-2009, 17:17
magic is a different story. if the character has MR, then you can use his. the BRB gives this specific example and says you can.

08-01-2009, 17:19
Ah ok, dont worry about the quote mate I believe you. IMO then if a character can use his MR to protect a unit versus a magic missile I could definitely understand a chaos player stating the -1 should apply. Not saying this is how it should be played, just saying I could see their point.

08-01-2009, 17:27
believe me, i play nurgle WoC and i wish this is how it was worded.

its kinda funny, the way MoN is worded. my units are nurgle, but none of my characters(except for one sorcerer) are nurgle.
for shooting purposes only the unit's MoN is targeted. the character's doesnt stack.
for HtH purposes if you are in contact with my unit, you have -1WS, and it is irrelevant that my lord is nurgle, as nurgle doesnt stack(at least that is the consensus on this forum). therefore why would i spend 30pts for all of my characters to have no in-game effect?

09-01-2009, 20:59
The way we play it at my club is: if the shooting can hit the character (i.e. less than five rank and file in the unit) then the MoN -1 applies. Otherwise it doesn't. Not saying this has any in-rulebook authority, it just seems like a fair compromise between always applying and never applying.

09-01-2009, 21:13
Unless you are targetting the model you dont suffer the -1 to hit.
If he's in a unit there are very few thing that can actually target him (hochland long rifles being one exception, so would suffer the -1 to hit).

He certainly doesnt give his -1 to hit to the unit.

09-01-2009, 21:17
Sounds like a good compromise teleologica :)

10-01-2009, 01:12
i sure wish they covered this in the new FAQ.
they seemed to have fixed 5 HUGE loopholes, which i sure give them a round of applause for. but this mark of nurgle situation still bugs me.

10-01-2009, 01:24
That'd be 'cause this is a Warriors-only problem, not a rulebook/general rules problem :p

10-01-2009, 01:26
i still want to whine. :)

that being said, im HUGELY happy they fixed these rules-loopholes. HOWEVER it means me and shamfrit will haveta fight about something else now.