PDA

View Full Version : DE Hydra Questions



Memphrite
18-01-2009, 19:56
Hallo,

some questions appear during a game:

Hydra moving through wood (dif. terrain):
Do the hydra can march through difficlut terrain (like human size). Rules say only "human" sice models my march through woods.

Handlers:
Do they have now 3 attacks or two? Is their secound hand weapon include in their profil?

Unit strength:
What unit strenght does the Hydra have with their two beast masters?
7 or 6 oo 5?

Thanks!

GodlessM
18-01-2009, 20:10
Hydra can move through woods freely as monsters and handlers move like skirmishers.

Handlers have 3 attacks each.

Total US is 7, 5 for the Hydra, 1 for each Handler.

EldarBishop
18-01-2009, 20:10
a) unsure, as I ave no DE Book.

b) The handlers should have whatever attacks are in their profile, plus an additional one for an extra weapon. GW doesn't add the extra weapon bonuses to profiles (unless they have recently changed this policy).

c) The US is a combination of the US of each model in the unit. So, X for the Hydra (I guess 5 by your question), and then 1 for each handler.

Makaber
18-01-2009, 20:41
First one has recently been FAq'd, and the official word on it is that yes, they can march through woods. To be, this is blatantly GW messing it up and then refusing to admit they made a mistake, instead leaning on the stupid-crutch that is "RAW".

To further confuse things, the unit reverts to moving as a monster when charging.

Necromancy Black
18-01-2009, 22:45
First one has recently been FAq'd, and the official word on it is that yes, they can march through woods. To be, this is blatantly GW messing it up and then refusing to admit they made a mistake, instead leaning on the stupid-crutch that is "RAW".

To further confuse things, the unit reverts to moving as a monster when charging.

Which all follows the rules. They move like skirmishers while with the handlers, but ignore the handlers on the charge, therefor stopping them being monsters and handlers for that brief period.

So to answer A) They move like skirmishers, including marching through woods. But when they charge they don't count as monster and handlers and are slowed down by terrain as normal. They revert back to being monsters and handlers after the charge is resolved.

Condottiere
18-01-2009, 23:23
Moral: Never charge blindly into a forest; march normally and take a deep breath.

Neckutter
19-01-2009, 14:15
to give direct answers to the OP:

1.yes, they move at double speed while moving in a wood. however they are slowed while charging as normal.

2. they have 2 attacks base, plus two hand weapons(one being the scourge)=3 attacks each.

3. total unit strength of 7, 5 for the monster and 1 each for the handlers.