PDA

View Full Version : Inative question



Lord_Crull
18-01-2009, 23:29
I was playing a game with my VC against some guys Empire.

Now it goes like this. I lose combat but in the following turn I say I go first in the following round of combat because I have a vampire, which has better initiative than his spearmen. He says no, he won the previous combat. Another player agreed with him.


If that is true then what's the point of having initiative if the order of combat all depends on who charged or one combat the previous turn?

Harwammer
18-01-2009, 23:32
If your initiative is the same then whoever won the previous round of combat goes first.


It is under the 'Who strikes first?' section on page 34

GodlessM
18-01-2009, 23:36
He would have only gone first is ye had equal initiative. Since yours was higher, you should have gone first. If you are not sure about something like this in a game and you feel you are right, call 'em on it.

Cherrystone
18-01-2009, 23:38
The vampire would strike first in the 2nd round of combat as his Initiative is higher than the spearmen. He would only strike last if the opponent had a higher Initiative or of equal Initiative and the vampire lost the previous round.

You were correct and your opponent needs to read the rulebook (or stop cheating)

Harwammer
18-01-2009, 23:41
always keep your little rule book on hand for these quick n easy checks :)

Condottiere
18-01-2009, 23:52
Ours is falling to pieces.

Harwammer
18-01-2009, 23:56
Buy a new one! can never own enough dwarfs n goblins ;)

Condottiere
19-01-2009, 00:07
Yeah, but those buggers are carrying picks and muskets, and I need crossbows and great weapons. On the plus side, the pony cart has potential for conversion and the cannon could become a culverin.

Back to the topic, initiative determines who strikes first in subsequent combat rounds, previous win breaks ties.

alextroy
19-01-2009, 00:27
Ours is falling to pieces.

Drill holes in it and stick it in a binder.

Lordmonkey
19-01-2009, 06:28
Initiative (6 for a vampire) would go before a spearman (3 for a human)...

...unless your vampire has a great weapon, in which case he goes last.

Braad
19-01-2009, 08:49
I can only agree with those above, previous win is only used to break the tie between equal initiative.

If you ever doubt a rule given by your opponent, ask him to show the rules for it.

PeG
19-01-2009, 19:37
so if the spearmen and the other undead guys have the same I striking order will be

1) vampire
2) spearmen
3) remaining undead

mav1971
19-01-2009, 20:01
If you ever doubt a rule given by your opponent, ask him to show the rules for it.

That's the best way to remember and know the rules for next time.