PDA

View Full Version : Cavalry models inside infantry units



FredNo1
20-01-2009, 18:41
If, lets say, a VC player has his general mounted and it joins a unit of infantry, how are ranks calculated? where in the unit is the general placed? and it still gets a lookout sir roll? aswell as not being able to get shot at from normal missiles right?

EldarBishop
20-01-2009, 18:55
According to the new FAQ, he should be placed off to the side... since putting him in the unit would be akward.

If the mtd model is a multiple of the unit (say a Chaos Hero and Chaos Warriors), then the Hero would take up one "spot" in the first rank, and one "spot" in the second rank.

Condottiere
20-01-2009, 19:49
He can placed anywhere in the front rank of the unit, if you don't mind dealing with the awkwardness.

He still gets look out sir.

FredNo1
21-01-2009, 10:52
According to the new FAQ, he should be placed off to the side... since putting him in the unit would be akward.

If the mtd model is a multiple of the unit (say a Chaos Hero and Chaos Warriors), then the Hero would take up one "spot" in the first rank, and one "spot" in the second rank.


So when it comes to rank, he gets counted as two models? (as one in the front rank and as one in the second?)

Nightsword
21-01-2009, 11:29
Yes basically. So a model on a 50x50 base in a unit of warriors (that has a 25mm base), then he'd occupy the space of 4 warriors (2 in the ffirst rank, two in the second), and for the purposes of rank bonuses he counts as those 4 bases, meaning a unit of 11 warriors and a lord on daemonic steed (with a 50x50 base) has it's full 3 rank (assuming a 5x3 formation).

The faq deals with this which you want to take a look, and it also deals with cavalry bases in a unit of 20mm bases.

nosferatu1001
21-01-2009, 11:57
As noted above - you don't have to place the lord on the edge, he can be in the middle, however if he has a different width (25mm vs 20mm) it will mean things dont rank up neatly.

There is also argument that a 25x50mm lord in a 20mmx20mm unit would still displace 4 models technically (as he displaces more than one model in each rank) so you could try to get lord + 16 to count as a 5x4 fully ranked unit, however you would probably get odd looks.

You really need to look at the FAQ (part 2) on GW website; it deals with exactly this issue, bringing 7th back into Chronicles 2004 alignment....

Braad
21-01-2009, 12:28
The 'Lord on the edge' thing only advised (by the FAQ) to be done in friendly play, just as it makes it all a bit easier. For any competative stuff, place it in the unit.

As said, inside that unit, it counts as being as many normal Rank&File bases as it takes up.

In some situations this will distort unit lay-out (like 25x50 cav model in 20x20 bases unit), but you'll have to live with that.