PDA

View Full Version : New to Fantasy Lizardmen Questions



Kennyd76
22-01-2009, 17:19
Under the current army book can a Salamander stand and shoot?

2ND, can the Slann Mage-Priest use lore of metal spell rule of burning iron or the spirit of the forge when his unit is in close combat? Since the Slann does not count as being in close combat and the rule of burning iron has no targeting restrictions expect line of sight and the spirit of the forge says it's exactly like the rule of the burning iron only it effects the unit and not a single model.

Braad
22-01-2009, 17:30
1: No.

2: It's not about the Slann being in Close combat, its about the target.
If the spell description says: "can be cast on a unit in close combat", then you can. If not, you can't.
Thing is, when a wizard is in close combat, they often are limited in their line of sight, and can only see the unit directly in front. In this case, they often can't cast as most spells don't have the allowance of being cast into combat. But there is no restriction of casting out of combat. Since the Slann is a large target, it can see over the unit they are attacking, and can cast at other units, however, normal rules for casting into a combat (target units that are in CC) apply.

Page 107 says that wizards cannot cast on units in close combat, unless the spell description specifically says so.
Spirit of the Forge says that the effect is the same as burning iron, however effect is the result of the spell, not how you target. Different target restrictions are given: within 24" and visible to caster. No exception for the rule on page 107 is given, so I would say: no! to casting in CC.

Necromancy Black
22-01-2009, 21:47
Rule of burning Ironc an be cast into close combat (as confirmed in the latest FAQ) because the spell has no targeting restrictions exepct LOS and range. Spirit of the Forge can not be cast into close combat as it only has the same damaging affect as Rule of Burning Iron, and hits a unit in the same way as a magic missile.

Nurgling Chieftain
22-01-2009, 21:51
Rule of burning Ironc an be cast into close combat (as confirmed in the latest FAQ) because the spell has no targeting restrictions exepct LOS and range.There's a big difference between not having a targeting restriction specified in the spell, and having the spell specify that no targeting restrictions apply.

Neckutter
22-01-2009, 21:58
the rule of burning iron says in the description that no targetting restrictions apply. therefore.... no targetting restriction apply. yes you can cast it at a unit in HtH.

the spirit of the forge is a little unclear. it says it has the same effects as burning iron(which applies to doing damage based on the save of the target). i could see this being a rules dispute and two friendly players 4+ing it. HOWEVER, i do think this specifically targets a unit, and doesnt carry the expressly written caveat of not having any targetting restrictions. so i would say that it couldnt be cast at a unit on HtH

Kennyd76
25-01-2009, 07:18
Another question can the Slann see 360?

Necromancy Black
25-01-2009, 07:30
No, the Slann is a monsterous creature (to hell with that stupid FAQ) so only has a 90 degree arc of vision like any unit of ranked models. This is why you run a skink priest or two so he can draw LOS from them. Salamanders are good for this, as there's no rule preventing the skink priest from joining them.