PDA

View Full Version : New to Tournaments- what to expect?

phil
22-01-2009, 20:47
Howdy? i am new to the tournament scene and have really only participated in local tournaments. 5 Tournaments to be exact. Adepticon team tournament twice, I have been playing 40k for 8 years or so.

Now however, I am attending a much larger tournament, some here may be attending. Adepticon2009 , i will be playing in the gladiator and the 40k Championships.
On the larger scale tournament scene i am concerned that my newness will make my opponents irritable.

Does anyone have suggestions to me, that would help get me familiar with the bigger badder tourney scene? I just want to make a good impression, have fun and really -- obliterate my opponents.

Thanks for your imput.
Phil

Culven
22-01-2009, 20:55
If you have copies of your army list which are legible and legal, easy to identify units (for your opponent to compare to the list during the game), all relevant rules (rulebook, codecies, and FAQs), all of your supplies (dice, templates, ruler), knowledge of the rules (and I don't mean House Rules), and a good attitude, you should be fine. Big tournaments are like small tournaments, just with more players. They tend to draw the same kinds of players that smaller competative tournaments will. So, you will have friendly easy-going players, and some who will almost break the rules to get them to bend in their favour.

Lord Cook
22-01-2009, 23:00