PDA

View Full Version : My problem...

dragonlancr
22-01-2009, 23:20
So I have a problem. I started playing WFB a few months ago after taking a 10 year break. Prior to starting up again, I spend a ridiculous amount of time on each rank and file guy and I was very happy with how my army was looking.

A few months ago, I started playing with friends and getting involved in a gaming group, and I really developed a strong desire to just finish the army.

However, when I look at my guys up close or inspect them heavily, they aren't painted that great and it bugs the hell out of me. It's weird, because, when I take my time I can literally paint something that most people would be really proud of. I mean, I know I can paint.

The problem is I am getting sick of painting and each night I sit down I dread it; I'm ready to get it over with. But on the same token I get depressed because I know the guys *could* look better.

Anyone have this problem? Have some good advice? :cries:

Solasun
22-01-2009, 23:32
Do the "reward" system, for every 5/10/15 rank and file troopers you do to an "ok" "gaming" standard, paint yourself up a special character/champion/standard bearer where you can let your skill show?

Blocks of troops tend to work best as masses of colour with stand outs.

dragonlancr
22-01-2009, 23:38

That idea is awesome.

I mean really, I love that idea.

Thank you. :)

Draconian77
22-01-2009, 23:40
I go through the same thing...

My advise is to paint the front rank of a rank and file unit very well and maybe the side and rear models too.(Assuming you always rank them up in the same sequence) and then sort of "fudge" the central models. Now, after you have finsished your army you can go back and touch up those models but for the purposes of playing with a fully painted army I find this system to be helpful.