PDA

View Full Version : Balance 40k

GuyLeCheval
29-01-2009, 15:58
So I'm new to 40k. I just played 2 games with orks against space marines (Assault on black reach), which I both won.

But now is my question:
In warhammer fantasy I know which armies are overpowered and who need a redone. I asked myself: Is there in 40k also a problem of power creep, and so, which armies are affected?

In other words, I'd like to hear your opinnion of the balance in 40k.

linkai
29-01-2009, 16:07
Current strong armies:
Orks
Space Marines
Chaos Space Marines (lash/oblit)

Current solid armies:
Eldar
Dark Eldar
Sisters of Battle
Space Wolves
Blood Angels
Chaos Daemons
Tyranids

Current weaker armies:
Tau
Daemonhunters
Imperial Guard
Dark Angels
Black Templars
Necrons

Am I missing any big ones?

Orks were solid in 4th but got a HUGE boost in 5th. Space Marines got a bit stronger because of their new codex - drop pod armies are tough to beat. Chaos of course is still strong but Eldar (to a lesser extent Dark Eldar) got weaker because of the SMF rule.

K

Radium
29-01-2009, 16:10
You forgot Tyranids? Also solid in my opinion.

Lord Damocles
29-01-2009, 16:11
In 40K, it's more a case of power lists (eg. twin Lash Chaos) than power armies as is (or so I'm led to believe) the case in Fatasy (eg. Chaos Deamons).

On AoBR Marines beating Orks, the Marines have quite a few more points in the box than the Orks (something like 500 to 400).

Kurisu313
29-01-2009, 16:11
the balance between armies is pretty good. Orks are at the high end of the spectrum, which may explain your experience.

The balance inside the lists is not so great, where often one or two builds are much more powerful than others, for example chaos dual lash lists or ork nob bikers. Daemonhunters are an okay 'dex, but most people play them as pure grey knights which is relatively weak. These problems seem to have lessened since 5th edition though.