PDA

View Full Version : Dispell question



Drayken
01-02-2009, 18:16
When I play with my friends, there's always a debate about dispell dice, for this reason.
When someone casts a spell, do you have to decide to dispell and the number of dice you'll do it with before or after he hast rolled to cast?
This might seem insignificant, but if you could wait to see what he casts, you could save some dispell dice that might have failed in any case.
Does anyone know if it is specifically stated in the rulebook?

narrativium
01-02-2009, 18:45
You choose whether or not you're going to, and the number of dice, after it's cast. You wouldn't lose any dice if your opponent miscasted or failed to cast. Rulebook-wise, it's the very first sentence under "Dispelling" on page 108.

Necromancy Black
01-02-2009, 22:27
The spell must first be attempted to be casted before the oppanant decieds if they will attempt to disple it and if so, how many dice they will use.

Condottiere
02-02-2009, 01:50
The real difficult part is determining if the spell is in range; sometimes, it's obvious, other times, not.

If you figure it's within range, you then determine the number of Dispel Dice you want to and can use.

sulla
02-02-2009, 04:50
The real difficult part is determining if the spell is in range; sometimes, it's obvious, other times, not.

If you figure it's within range, you then determine the number of Dispel Dice you want to and can use.

You don't determine range until after the dispel has failed and the spell is cast successfully.

Do you mean as a dispeller you sometimes don't want to waste dice on a spell because you judge it to be out of range?

Neckutter
02-02-2009, 04:55
gamer1 casts a spell "fireball" rolls a 6 on two dice. gamer2 thinks about it, and thinks that his unit is within the 24" range of the spell. he has a decision to dispel it or let it go. gamer2 decides that he should dispel it, and says he will attempt to dispel it with 3 of his 5 dispel dice. the throws the dice, and gets a total of "5". spell goes off, and then range is measured. as it turns out gamer2's unit was 25" away and the spell doesnt do anything.

Condottiere
02-02-2009, 08:37
You don't determine range until after the dispel has failed and the spell is cast successfully.

Do you mean as a dispeller you sometimes don't want to waste dice on a spell because you judge it to be out of range?More or less. :)