PDA

View Full Version : Ranks for Ogres



Dalrik
02-02-2009, 15:34
We all know that in order to complete a rank you need 5 models. Does an ogres base count as 1 or 2 models per file (ie. would 3 ogres be enough to make a full second rank?)

Bac5665
02-02-2009, 15:42
All units, regardless of base size, need 5 models per rank in order to get rank bonuses. There in an exception for characters joining units with smaller bases, but that can't actually effect Ogres in any way that I can think of.

Dalrik
02-02-2009, 15:51
All units, regardless of base size, need 5 models per rank in order to get rank bonuses. There in an exception for characters joining units with smaller bases, but that can't actually effect Ogres in any way that I can think of.

Thanks a lot. I thought that was the case... not that I mind having 2 ranks of 5 ogres.

Neckutter
02-02-2009, 17:40
a faq saying that OK get rank bonus for 3 wide would be a nice boost. :)
but alas OK dont get it.

an interesting note, if you ride a daemonic mount(or other 50mm bases), you "count as" as many models as you were supposed to have displaced for rank bonus.(per the new FAQ)
thus palanquins count as four models(2 in the front, 2 in the second rank) for rank bonus only, and not unit strength.

CaliforniaGamer
02-02-2009, 18:21
yeah with the new FAQ, models count for as many bases as they displace for the determination of rank bonus ONLY, not US.

Thus, a 25x50mm base counts as 3x20mm standard infantry bases now as opposed to only 2x20mm people used to claim it was.

thus a unit with 1 cav. character+17 infantry=fully 3+ ranked unit

Urgat
02-02-2009, 18:41
So it could have worked for a gnobblar unit joined by an ogre character, but iirc, the later are not allowed to do that.

stripsteak
02-02-2009, 18:57
yeah with the new FAQ, models count for as many bases as they displace for the determination of rank bonus ONLY, not US.

Thus, a 25x50mm base counts as 3x20mm standard infantry bases now as opposed to only 2x20mm people used to claim it was.

thus a unit with 1 cav. character+17 infantry=fully 3+ ranked unit

25x50 only fills in the place of 2 20mm bases. you 'fudge' the base size to be a multiple of the unit it is replacing. so it's either going to fudge to 20x40 or 40x80, and i don't think you'll get many people who would fudge it up to being the space of 8 models. you still need 18+mounted to get a full 3 ranks.

but this doesn't matter in the case of ogres since ogre bases aren't replacing anything. 40mm is the standard size of an ogre so an ogre character is only displacing 1RnF model.

Asmodiseus
02-02-2009, 20:30
Honestly this is kinda messed up. Imagine a Chaos Marauder unit led by 3 Chaus heroes mounted on Juggernauts. This unit would be six models wide with the 3 characters in the front and get a full rank bonus due to the 3 40 mm bases counting as 6 RNF models. They go up against a Ogre unit that is 3 wide and 4 deep the ogres have the exact same frontage as the Juggernauts but do not get the rank bonus :(

Necromancy Black
02-02-2009, 23:33
This is house ruled alot to just go 3 ranks wide. A email sent to the rules boys also advised us for this play style. It doesn't help in tournements but I advise you ask your gaming group to try it out.

Gazak Blacktoof
02-02-2009, 23:35
I'd be more worried about the 3 juggers than the exploitation of the rules.

EldarBishop
03-02-2009, 00:38
I'd be more worried about the 3 juggers than the exploitation of the rules.

^^ indeed!