PDA

View Full Version : A Newb Runesmith Question

Simkin78
06-02-2009, 00:17
Hey all,
I'm just getting into Fantasy Dwarfs and I'm looking at very small games right now (1500 points). In looking at Runesmiths, not Runelords, I wonder if they can take an Anvil? If so, is it the Anvil of Doom or simply a lesser anvil that isn't mentioned in the book? I only ask because it appears as though the only Anil mentioned is the Anvil of Doom and without being able to take an anvil, what would be the point of taking a Runesmith?
Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

nosferatu1001
06-02-2009, 00:20
Simkin - only Runelords can take Anvils of Doom. There is no "anvil of almost doom" - essentially you can only do what your book tells you, regardless of if you think there is then a point to that unit. If "this unit is cr*p" was a reason to change rules OK and Empire would have some BIG changes, to name but two armies!

The point for me however? Extra dispel dice to shut down magic heavy armies, e.g. Vamps and Daemons, fluffy if you want to theme your army e.g. runelord and smiths.

Simkin78
06-02-2009, 00:33
Simkin - only Runelords can take Anvils of Doom. There is no "anvil of almost doom" - essentially you can only do what your book tells you, regardless of if you think there is then a point to that unit. If "this unit is cr*p" was a reason to change rules OK and Empire would have some BIG changes, to name but two armies!

The point for me however? Extra dispel dice to shut down magic heavy armies, e.g. Vamps and Daemons, fluffy if you want to theme your army e.g. runelord and smiths.