PDA

View Full Version : That Old WS 0 Argument



Nicha11
06-02-2009, 01:46
Warriors with mark of nurgle fight Zombies.

Mark of Nurgle reduces their WS to 0.

Options

1) The Zombies can't hit the warriors
2)Zombes hit on 5's
3) Neither can hit their opponents.

So Warseer, can you resolve the debate (is it actually really simple?).

babyberg31
06-02-2009, 01:49
Nurgle's mark don't reduce Ws, it give -1 to hit... so zombies hit on 6

Necromancy Black
06-02-2009, 02:22
Nurgles mark does reduce the WS, the -1 to hit only applies to shooting at the marked models. Go re-read the book.


As for the argument, I support either 5's hitting or at the very least, nothing will stop a 6 from hitting.

stripsteak
06-02-2009, 02:24
Nurgle's mark don't reduce Ws, it give -1 to hit... so zombies hit on 6

-1 to hit for shooting. -1 WS to units in base contact.

as for WS 0,, pg5 they can't attack (they have no ability with that skill), and are hit automatically by the warriors.

EldarBishop
06-02-2009, 04:04
Rules for "Zero level characteristics" can be found on pg 7 BRB.

nosferatu1001
06-02-2009, 08:20
There is nothing on the WS comparison chart that allows a WS0 model to hit.

So the model is hit automatically and cannot hit, as no part of the chart (what you are told to use, you cannot use the explanatory text explaining the algorithm that generates the chart) allows a model with WS0 to make an attack

You weren't counting on your zombies to actually kill anything though, surely?

Asmodiseus
06-02-2009, 08:44
There is nothing on the WS comparison chart that allows a WS0 model to hit.

So the model is hit automatically and cannot hit, as no part of the chart (what you are told to use, you cannot use the explanatory text explaining the algorithm that generates the chart) allows a model with WS0 to make an attack

You weren't counting on your zombies to actually kill anything though, surely?

Hey my zombies killed one wardancer once so back off!

Neckutter
06-02-2009, 09:21
zombies cant hit the nurgle warriors, and nurgle warriors autohit the zombies, per the brb.

slasher
06-02-2009, 09:22
You weren't counting on your zombies to actually kill anything though, surely?

Skinks, (they hit them on 4's and wound them on 3's :eek:)

EldarBishop
06-02-2009, 09:34
You weren't counting on your zombies to actually kill anything though, surely?

or other zombies :D

Condottiere
06-02-2009, 10:11
You can't kill something that's already dead, though you could destroy it's physical form.

WS0 should mean they can't attack anyone, doesn't mean they can't avoid attacks or are defenseless.

Asmodiseus
06-02-2009, 10:21
Skinks, (they hit them on 4's and wound them on 3's :eek:)

Actually they hit on 4's and wound on 4's. Strength 2 for the loss.

slasher
06-02-2009, 10:58
Oh dear.... my bad.

theunwantedbeing
06-02-2009, 11:37
Weaponskill 0 is not on the "to hit" chart that we consult to see what we need to roll to hit with.
Therefore you cannot hit with a weaponskill of 0.

If you let things with ws0 attack, then you end out having to let things like chariots with frenzy get to attack.

Neckutter
06-02-2009, 19:46
WS0 should mean they can't attack anyone, doesn't mean they can't avoid attacks or are defenseless.

WS0 means they have no skill whatsoever in combat, and so are hit automatically, per the brb.

kinda sucks, but then zombies suck anyways... but that is another story.

Templar_Victorious
08-02-2009, 01:21
Zombies are already rotten husks, how do you rot the rotten?

kaimarion
08-02-2009, 03:09
Zombies are already rotten husks, how do you rot the rotten?

Nurgles rot :p.


It is quite fortunate that I found this thread as someone at my LGC is using VC in the fantasy campaign and I use a nurgle heavy army so this will help resolve this issue should it pop up.

Neckutter
08-02-2009, 03:35
Zombies are already rotten husks, how do you rot the rotten?

just because you are a rotting undead husk, doesnt mean that you cant be a pestilent rotting undead husk. :)

Condottiere
08-02-2009, 11:40
Assuming that the flesh of a zombie is no longer living matter, how can it become infected?

Necromancy Black
08-02-2009, 11:57
Assuming that the flesh of a zombie is no longer living matter, how can it become infected?

Disco Fever knows no limit.

Lordmonkey
09-02-2009, 13:38
From a fluff PoV, the mark of Nurgle shouldnt affect zombies anyway.

I support the cant hit at all argument though, since there is no WS0 value on the chart by which to work out what is needed to hit the chaos warriors.

Couple this with the fact that WS0 indicates the zombies are drunk, blind and paralysed all at once, and unable to fight due to a very bad hangover.

Deacon Bane
09-02-2009, 15:42
Boy, I hope they never come out with a way of pumping someone to WS11, they would be screwed! "Sorry ultimate sword dude your stat is not on our table, therefore you can not hit anything." " But I..I.. am the bestest fighter in the land, look WS11! That's better than a Bloodthirster!"
"No We're sorry but if it is not on our chart it doesn't count.":D

Malarowski
09-02-2009, 21:08
Disco Fever knows no limit.

I'd try some cowbell. That's good against any kind of fever.

Lordmonkey
09-02-2009, 21:11
Boy, I hope they never come out with a way of pumping someone to WS11, they would be screwed! "Sorry ultimate sword dude your stat is not on our table, therefore you can not hit anything." " But I..I.. am the bestest fighter in the land, look WS11! That's better than a Bloodthirster!"
"No We're sorry but if it is not on our chart it doesn't count.":D

He's too busy strutting around showing everyone how awesome he is to fight :p

Condottiere
09-02-2009, 21:15
There's that special character in WoC who'd qualify, Sigurd or something.

Sifal
09-02-2009, 22:02
I'd try some cowbell. That's good against any kind of fever.

just wanted to let you know I got your saturday night live joke, one of the best sketches ever.