PDA

View Full Version : scaly skin

meanmachine
08-02-2009, 16:55
hi

i'm new to fantasy.
can you tell me if a saurus oldblood with 4+ scaly skin save that has an enchanted shield and light armour becomes a 1+ armour save

nosferatu1001
08-02-2009, 17:01
Yes, scaly scan is a "stackable" armour save - so 4+ AS becomes 2+ becomes 1+. or -1+ on a Cold One!

Mr_Rose
08-02-2009, 17:57
Indeed. Scaly skin is cumulative with every other type of mundane armour/armour save bonus, such as that for being mounted on a steed or having a shield, so an Oldblood with light armour, an enchanted shield and hand weapon would be getting a 1+ save vs shooting and a 0+ save in close combat.

It's just a pity the Sacred Stegadon Helm is skinks only...

Neckutter
08-02-2009, 18:55
which is funny, because to fit on a skink, it must be an extremely small stegadon's skull.

Necromancy Black
08-02-2009, 22:40
Indeed. Scaly skin is cumulative with every other type of mundane armour/armour save bonus, such as that for being mounted on a steed or having a shield, so an Oldblood with light armour, an enchanted shield and hand weapon would be getting a 1+ save vs shooting and a 0+ save in close combat.

It's just a pity the Sacred Stegadon Helm is skinks only...

Throw him on a cold one and it's a straight -1+AS. On foot with Cold One armour is 0+, -1+ in hand to hand and he's toughness 6. Seriously some of the heavier armoured characters out there.

Neckutter
09-02-2009, 02:23
he is pretty much a beast. 1+(or better) armor save, T6, effective leadership of 10ish. plus there are some great combos of magic weapons. it is a really effective lord, and any fighty characters would be hard-pressed to handle him in HtH.

nickdahkwik
09-02-2009, 16:28
yes sir all above are perfectly right scaly skin is a "stackable" save so good choice in magic items my friend and go new lizardmen!

RiTides Nids
09-02-2009, 20:15