PDA

View Full Version : Invincible Slann?



slingersam
08-02-2009, 19:28
If you take a slann preist with the discipline of the ancient
"higher state of consciousness", and the item shield of the
mirriored pool.
The discipline makes the slann only weakness is magic attacks
yet the shield reflects all magic attacks back at the opponent.
So is the slann near invincible? Also its pretty cheap for a slann
and still have a lot of points left for other things.

Loopstah
08-02-2009, 19:31
The Slann can't take magic armour.

Disciple of Caliban
08-02-2009, 19:33
^^ This (min post length)

theunwantedbeing
08-02-2009, 19:35
Actually, the slann cant take the sheild of the mirrored pool as it cannot take a regular mundane sheild.
Similarly the slann cannot take most magical armour as it has no access to regular mundane armour.

The slann appears to be perfectly capable of taking any item, barring those that are skink only of course. And the above, no magic sheilds/armour thing of course.

eg.
Slann with the blade of realities wandering around killing things seems to be perfectly reasonable.

ReveredChaplainDrake
08-02-2009, 19:49
While you can't combine it with Shield of the Mirrored Pool (which would do nothing for magical attacks that hit in CC or other magical effects which aren't necessarily missiles) you can combine Higher State of Consciousness with Unfathomable Presence, thus giving you basically an Ethereal, MR3 Slann. :evilgrin:

Leth Shyish'phak
08-02-2009, 20:48
Slann with the blade of realities wandering around killing things seems to be perfectly reasonable.

Combine with the Lore of Death for potential (but still highly unlikely) hilarity. Use the D3 re-rolls from heavens as well for a re-roll to hit :)

EDIT: Except that Doom and Darkness would have no effect :( . Nevermind.

Buddha777
08-02-2009, 21:04
While you can't combine it with Shield of the Mirrored Pool (which would do nothing for magical attacks that hit in CC or other magical effects which aren't necessarily missiles) you can combine Higher State of Consciousness with Unfathomable Presence, thus giving you basically an Ethereal, MR3 Slann. :evilgrin:

Combine that with divine plaque of protection for a 2+ ward and you really do have a near impossible unit to kill. Unnecessary given you could just stick jabba the toad in a unit of temple gaurd of course, but very possible.

Braad
08-02-2009, 21:57
If it can't die, let it run forever.

Or are they unbreakable too, now?

Dokushin
08-02-2009, 23:50
There are some good options for an invincible Slaan, I'd probably go for the immune to mundane attacks, MR3, regeneration, and terror, and then give him the 2+ ward vs. shooting, and the aura of quetzl, and BSB with the banner of -2 to shooting (-1 if over 12").

Mind you, that's a 500 pt model with only basic Lv4 capabilities that a tooled lord will still rip through. Much better to not sweat it and put him in TG where he can get look out sir, ld 8 stubborn reroll, and not be singled out, and maybe regeneration just to help with miscasts.

lcfr
09-02-2009, 01:28
Actually, the slann cant take the sheild of the mirrored pool as it cannot take a regular mundane sheild.
Similarly the slann cannot take most magical armour as it has no access to regular mundane armour.

I thought wizards can't take magic or mundane armour because it prevents them from being able to cast spells?

Ward.
09-02-2009, 01:32
I thought wizards can't take magic or mundane armour because it prevents them from being able to cast spells?

That's DnD reasoning behind the old version of the rule, now they can as long as they have the option for it.

Dead Man Walking
09-02-2009, 04:00
So why havent you guys taken a saurus char with the shield and added him to the slaan's unit? Still get the -same- effect.

Jericho
09-02-2009, 04:59
That's DnD reasoning behind the old version of the rule, now they can as long as they have the option for it.Is this the actual rule in the main rulebook? I know VC mysteriously says nothing about casting through armor, but the newer WoC book still specifically allows the Sorcs to use Chaos armor and Magic Shields.

Wrathiel
09-02-2009, 05:08
You can make an invincible slann.

Make him ethereal, then choose lore of light, and cast Pha's illumination on himself.

Now he is immune to mundane attacks and magic weapons now count as mundane against him. and he has 3 str 5 attacks!

Kamenwati
09-02-2009, 05:15
Aha! But a Tomb King player could still kill him with a Screaming Skull Catapult shot. Hard to do with "Look out sir!" but the catapult counts as flaming and magical.

slingersam
09-02-2009, 06:37
I said invincible slann because that was really cheap to do,
around 300 pts, obviously you can make the unit into the
deathstar but what fun is that. Also wondering can you add
a skink chief or a skink priest into a unit of saraus,because
you can give them the shield 2 and be protected from magic
while you denie any other type of magic/ spells.

Ward.
09-02-2009, 06:39
Is this the actual rule in the main rulebook? I know VC mysteriously says nothing about casting through armor, but the newer WoC book still specifically allows the Sorcs to use Chaos armor and Magic Shields.

Well the rule that stopped them from casting with armor isn't in the latest book.

MURPH
09-02-2009, 06:42
No lore of death shenanigans with the BoR because he tests on the unmodified Ld of the model hit.

VC, it says at the top in the magic armour section.