PDA

View Full Version : Arming Tyranid Battleforce

MistaGav
09-02-2009, 22:24
I have a Tyranid Battleforce on the way shortly (should be tommorow) and I'm just wondering what I should arm the niddlies with.

Hormagaunts and Genestealers are simple really but since the changes 5th has brought to Tyranids I don't really want to go shooty mad. I have a carnifex with Twin Deathspitters + Talons and 6 genestealers already painted with a biovore and Zoanthrope on the way but that's another matter.

Ok so it's really what should I give 8 termagants, a fex and 3 warriors?

Nabeshin1106
10-02-2009, 00:09
Are you looking for the Fex to be Heavy or Elite? If Heavy, I'd go with a Barbed Strangler and a Venom Cannon. If you want Elite, I'd give him either 2 Twin Devourers or a Barbed Strangler and Scything Talons.

If you want cheap cannon fodder, give the Gaunts Spinefists, if you want a little firepower, give them Fleshborers.

I have little to no experience with Warriors as I never field them, sorry. Maybe some Deathspitters?

Valtiel
10-02-2009, 02:48
I equip my Warriors with Deathspitters and scything talons, then flesh hooks (could be taken off), Toxin Sacs (if they have a Barbed Strangler in the unit) and Enhanced Senses (if they have a Venom Cannon in the unit). I run them 3 normally but would like to increase these two units to 4 each (one has Barbed, other VC). They work pretty well, they are cheap and they give some decent support fire.

holmcross
10-02-2009, 07:28
For gaunts: Fleshboarers. Better at killing MEQ

For genestealers: Vanilla with feeder tendrils

Warriors: Deathspitters with a barbed strangler, venom sacs and scything talons is a good one for a shooty unit. I don't like VCs on warriors because you'd need enhanced senses to get any of the shots to hit, and it doesn't pair well with deathspitters (they're an anti-infrintry unit).

Carnifex: Scything talons/barbed strangler , 2x scything talons, 2x devourers, are all good options.

Explodingboy