PDA

View Full Version : Orc & Goblin Question

Son of Horus
10-02-2009, 22:31
Sorry to dredge up an old topic but I simply cannot find a good answer anywhere.

I am new to Warhammer Fantasy but played way back in 3rd Edition. I have picked up an Orc & Goblin Army and have what I know is an old and silly question.

In this new edition can Orcs & Goblins make use of Ogre's via the Dogs of War Special Rule? If so can anyone direct me to an official answer on the GW site that still works? Or any other site that does? Is it on Warseer?

Thanks for your patience.

Tony

Braad
10-02-2009, 22:37
Well... its a bit difficult to answer it the way you wan't it answered.

The last thing we heard from GW is that you should refer to DOW rules and ogre rules for how to field them in other armies, and since those books give all necessary rules, the rare-slots that used to be in al armybooks is now removed and are not necessary (we had an official quote from Gav Thorpe on this when he was still boss).
This causes a bit of a problem RAW wise, since ogre specifically require this rare slot. However, if we play as intended on that last quote from GW, then you can use those ogres as a single rare choice in an O&G army, and I believe maneaters for two rares, because that's what is required according to ogre armybook.

The problem is, any reference to those rules and the quote given by GW is gone since the update of their website...

On the one hand, they told us we can use them, and never told us that time is over.
On the other hand, they don't actually give us rules right now.

DOW and Ogre mercenaries are a bit walking in the shadow right now. But I say: use them. I would always allow them as long as we don't get any countermessage from GW. Opinions on this might vary though.

Son of Horus
10-02-2009, 22:48
Thank you for the reply.

I kind of figured as much as I was unable to find any link or page that referenced it.