PDA

View Full Version : any teachers on here that run school based clubs

Simo429
12-02-2009, 15:02
we've got one at our school but it isnt well run, im a trainee teacher who will be there for another 10 weeks and id really like to get them going on a long term project for the next couple of weeks

any advice would be appreciated!

also did games workshop provide anything for you to start up with, some of our kids have stuff but id like to give others the chance

Isambard
12-02-2009, 15:30
Did the same thing during my PGCE year. I ran a club for 2 months, in which I worked with the students making a 8'*4' gaming table with some scenery. It was really nice, the students got to develop some handicraft skills, and they had something useful left over when I moved on.

ozzyboy
12-02-2009, 16:08
Im not a teacher, but seven of the students at my school are interested in playing. Some of them have already started their armies!

Simo429
12-02-2009, 19:10
even if your not a teacher and you've got some ideas about what we could do with about 10 hours over the next few weeks would be great

noodle-j
12-02-2009, 19:29
we had a club at our school for a bit, but we didn't get anything from GW to help us, it quickly turned into a D+D club, as it was "easier to get into".
it probably is, but it was a shame that warhammer was dismissed so quickly. if i were you, i'd get black reach and/or skull pass asap, just so people who are without any models, and are interested in the game can play, whilst you do other things like making gaming boards or organising a campaign if enough people have armies already, as projects. keep everyone involved as best you can really :)

Grotsnik
12-02-2009, 19:56
Am a custodian at a grade school. For the past 3 years I have been running a 40K "class" for 5th/6th graders as part of the After School Program. Class is 1 hour two days a week, normally running in 9 week cycles.