PDA

View Full Version : Help a marine n00b?

Enki
18-02-2009, 05:17
Greetings,

I am just getting started on my marine army and I wanted some direction. I am probably (guestimating) 30-40% to having a fieldable army.

Right now I have
2 units of 10 marines
5 scouts
5 assault marines
1 Rhino
1 Dreadnought
1 El Capitan
2 Veteran assault sergeants
1 Veteran tactical sergeant

Help me prioritize my marine shopping list/tell me what's missing/if I shouldn't bother with some of this:

2x Assault Squad
1x combat squad
1x Dreadnought
1x Rhino
1x Librarian
1x Tactical squad
1x Terminator Squad

I've never played any 40k so let me know how this is looking. I've also heard good things about playing pods, but that might be a while down the road.

Also, (ignorant n00b question, bear with me) I want some of my tactical units to have heavy bolters. Those come in the combat squad boxes right?

long bow
18-02-2009, 07:42
they dont come in the comabt squad boxes they come in the devestater box.
and just some help i wouldent take 3 assault squads its a bit of over kill

Serebrate
18-02-2009, 07:50
You already are already able to field an army. You simply need one HQ choice (That's your Captain or an Independent Character) and two troops (Scouts, Tactical Squad, etc.)

It really depends what you're going for. I prefer an assault-based army, so that's my bias. However, I think you should go for terminators to deploy via deep strike. Try playing with what you have at your LGS. After a few games you'll find what you want in your army. Also, remember this is your army, so build it accordingly.

Hope this helps.

Thud
18-02-2009, 08:08
Welcome to 40k and Warseer, Enki.

I agree with Serebrate. Put together a list of what you have and head down to the local shop (or to your kitchen table) and play some games. When you start thinking "I wish I had something like this, or that" etc you'll know what to buy!