View Full Version : change frontage

20-02-2009, 21:41
Quick question.

If a unit of spearmen has been in combat a few turns, wins the combat and decides to expand their front rank (max of five), does this count as moving?

Which would mean only the front rank of spearmen can attack (unless HE spearmen)

20-02-2009, 21:59
i don't believe a change formation counts as movement. it just says you must surrender 1/4 of your movement to do it. but you are getting it for 'free' so you don't spend any movement for it.

the rules for shooting while moving specifically state change formation...count as movement for this purpose. which suggest that it normally doesn't count as movement.

but it doesn't matter. you shouldn't be able to change formation until after you have fought that turn, so during the next turn you would be able to use your spears fine...unless i am missing something.

20-02-2009, 22:41
Yes that's true. You do the manoeuver at the end of the combat phase, not in the movement phase. So it makes no difference with spears.
I didn't think of that, i assumed you did all manoeuvers in the movement phase.
Thanks for that :)