PDA

View Full Version : War Altar Tactica

mR_RoTTenTReaTs
23-02-2009, 04:16
So, I've been playing Empire for a couple years now (on and off). With the release of the latest army book, I waited to make a War Altar. Well, I have finally made one and I was wondering if there was a general consensus on how the unit should be used. Not so much how to equip the Arch Lector, but more of general tactica for it. Such as:
1. Leave at the center of army for Leadership; with the option of being a hammer flank unit?

2. Charge right into the biggest/baddest enemy unit and Challenge the opposing general with VanH's Speculum? (this doesnt sound good to me, but hey, maybe it would work)

3. Or a flanking unit, taking on the job of Knights, hard hitting from the flank.

Thoughts?

The Red Scourge
23-02-2009, 04:37
2. Charge right into the biggest/baddest enemy unit and Challenge the opposing general with VanH's Speculum? (this doesnt sound good to me, but hey, maybe it would work)

This actually works quite well. The Arch Lector is one one of the poorest fighters in the game, and he has big troubles hurting himself (VHS). He is unbreakable, so he can hold off large hammers on his own (in fact he works perfectly as an anvil).

I see him work best as an assassin style anvil - and the Ld bubble is nice too :)

maze ironheart
23-02-2009, 15:00
I aggree as if you challange the enemy can't touch you but the one you challange can and he'll have your stats and you'll have his so who would win theirs only one way to find out FIGHT.

Tizz
23-02-2009, 18:32
Third agree. Past two games I've run mine straight at chosen easily killing valkia/chaos lord/sorcerers, champions while the golden griffon used the number 6 light spell to finish off the unit

superduperkoopatrooper
23-02-2009, 21:02