PDA

View Full Version : WoC - Frontage

Sam skywalker
23-02-2009, 18:55
So I am kinda new to fantasy... But I have several army lists... Now I was planning on running my chaos warriors with a front rank of 4... And am about to make my movement trays... But while talking to a blokey in GW he said that of course I would be taking them with a front rank of 5. Eh..?! Why is that an obvious statement?! So what are the benefits of taking a 5 front rank and a 4 front rank?! If I take 5 would I then take a unit of 15?! Where as if I take 4 I was only planning on taking 12...

I was planning on doing a squad of Khorne warriors with add h/w and another of nurgle with sheilds. So what do you guys suggest...?!

madival
23-02-2009, 18:59
if you take 12 then run them at fronts of 6. You dont really have to rely on static combat res with those guys. a rank of 4 doesnt grant you rank bonus. A rank of 5 does. A tank of 6 takes 1 rank away but you kill them dead pretty quick

Defcon
23-02-2009, 19:13
Does the notion of using a front rank of 6 fall apart when playing against units with the smaller infantry base? (dwarfs, mostly)

Because this whole front rank of 6 thing seems like something I'd never heard until I went on Warseer. It makes plenty of sense if everyone's running ranks of 5, but a rank of 5 dwarfs is about the same size as 4 warriors, with no definite chance that the corners will be touching.

Lex
23-02-2009, 19:21
5 dwaves = 100mm, 4 Warriors of Chaos = 100mm, so that gives the 4 in the middle excatly plus 2 on the corners. Therefore 6 will work fine on small bases or someone is not using the standard bases.

Zal
23-02-2009, 19:26
6 warrior frontage is optimal, i run 6 by 3 ranks and it works out very well. 6 ranks give you maximum attacks against the average unit and gives you some bodies to soak up wounds

Arguleon-veq
23-02-2009, 19:30
I may well be pointing out the obvious but I will anyway -

If you go 4 wide, you do not get a rank bonus.