PDA

View Full Version : Saurus Odblood and Carnosaur problem



whydiablo
26-02-2009, 16:46
can carnosaur ride by oldblood can join unit?

if yes, Stegadon ride by skin chief can do the same?

Ultimate Life Form
26-02-2009, 16:49
Yes and yes, however the steg could still be picked out due to being a large target.

whydiablo
26-02-2009, 16:54
so that I can do a crazy thing, join 7 steg in the same unit......although it is useless

Ultimate Life Form
26-02-2009, 16:56
very useless. Btw, I recently played Diablo II again, and it was real fun smashing Diablo to pieces. Donīt get scared now...:skull:

Whaagnomore
26-02-2009, 18:50
Just a sidenote, you can pick out a oldblood on a carny inside a unit even thouh it aint a large target, since it has US 5. p.74 in the rulebook

Ultimate Life Form
27-02-2009, 03:02
Heck! My bad! I canīt believe I fell for this! Looks like I still gotta learn a lot...

Foegnasher
27-02-2009, 03:18
so how do you keep your oldblood on a carny from being cannon-fodder?

Nicha11
27-02-2009, 03:25
so how do you keep your oldblood on a carny from being cannon-fodder?

Skinks

(damn minimum character limit)

Kalec
27-02-2009, 05:03
By keeping it behind units, not in them.

Foegnasher
27-02-2009, 12:10
i was thinking so, keep him screened by skinks and close to the engine early, while the flyers go and waste the cannon crews. then on turn two or three break cover and wreck some *****.

Spirit
27-02-2009, 14:59
i was thinking so, keep him screened by skinks and close to the engine early, while the flyers go and waste the cannon crews. then on turn two or three break cover and wreck some *****.

cannons will still hit him if they can see and guess at the skinks infront

nosferatu1001
27-02-2009, 15:50
You just kep the skinks far enough in front that any attempt to "over guess" is clearly cheating. If your skinks are close in to the lord and the cannon shot bounces through after a non-cheating guess, then tough luck, however if you're 8" behind, 24" from the cannon and the player clearly is aiming at your carnosaur by calling "24"", call them out for cheating.

Axis
27-02-2009, 21:50
so how do you keep your oldblood on a carny from being cannon-fodder?

By getting it into closecombat...

Conotor
27-02-2009, 22:04
You just kep the skinks far enough in front that any attempt to "over guess" is clearly cheating. If your skinks are close in to the lord and the cannon shot bounces through after a non-cheating guess, then tough luck, however if you're 8" behind, 24" from the cannon and the player clearly is aiming at your carnosaur by calling "24"", call them out for cheating.

This is one of the things I hate about GW. They should make a clear rule that ur shot has no effect if your original GUESS was farther then the target yu are officially aiming at.

Necromancy Black
27-02-2009, 22:04
You just kep the skinks far enough in front that any attempt to "over guess" is clearly cheating. If your skinks are close in to the lord and the cannon shot bounces through after a non-cheating guess, then tough luck, however if you're 8" behind, 24" from the cannon and the player clearly is aiming at your carnosaur by calling "24"", call them out for cheating.

I don't really see this as cheating but i can see people getting snakey about it.

Also sif the cannon isn't going to be on hill.

Nurgling Chieftain
27-02-2009, 23:14
I don't really see this as cheating...It is cheating, no doubt about it. The rules are that you guess at the target, not at some other unit which happens to be along that line which you really want to shoot at and are trying to exploit a loophole in the way guessing ranges works.

woodulikeanother
05-03-2009, 02:23
so that I can do a crazy thing, join 7 steg in the same unit......although it is useless

you cannot join 7 stegs together, monsters even though ridden by characters can never form a unit same as joining 2 or more characters together it cant be done unless they are in another unit, but you could put them into a unit of warriors

Spirit
05-03-2009, 22:09
you cannot join 7 stegs together, monsters even though ridden by characters can never form a unit same as joining 2 or more characters together it cant be done unless they are in another unit, but you could put them into a unit of warriors

Ok then, join 7 stegadons into a unit of 10 skinks. Fun fun fun.

Greyfire
06-03-2009, 01:15
Ok then, join 7 stegadons into a unit of 10 skinks. Fun fun fun.

That would be a big game to have enough hero options to make that happen! In a 4K game though seven steggies would look about right. :)

r019nd
06-03-2009, 01:27
following on can a carny old-blood / stegy ridden by chief join a unit of skirmishing skinks?

If so do they gain a 360 field of charge? Even if they charge out of the unit?

I think that you can and you do, but I don't have a rule book in front of me

Famder
06-03-2009, 05:53
Only man-sized models can join skirmishers.

nosferatu1001
06-03-2009, 07:25
Only US1 models can join skirmishers - all references to "man sized" should now read US1

It also means you cant put your slaan in chameleon skinks to give an extra -1 to hit....