PDA

View Full Version : 1000pts Dark Elf Army, for a newbie

PeeKay
27-02-2009, 08:57
I am new to WHFB and I am looking for some advised when creating my first army. Generally, I want my first models to be a platform to build up the army so some choices I have made maybe weird (stupid), any constructive advice will be appreciated.

Also my friend (also new) is building up his army of High Elves and will be my opponent for the first few battles at least. The only thing I know about his army that it will include Dragon Mage of Caledor, Shadow Warriors and a compulsory core unit (probably Archers). The rest of this army, knowing him, will be very elite and lots of magic items.

My army list for 1000pts:

Heroes
Master on Cold One, lance, heavy armour, shield @110 (Lead the knights unit, extra punch and high LD for stupid test)
Sorceress, level 2 @ 135 (Get some magic)

Core
10 DE Repeater Crossbowmen @100 (Looks to be one of the most effective units available to me, lots of shots and armour piercing)
12 DE Warrior, shields, Full Command @99 (Extra unit but worried due to small unit size, it will be destroyed before use)
6 Harpies @ 66 (Screening for knights/block marching/take out war machines. This unit could be my ace)

Special
5 Cold One Knights, Musician, Standard @ 159 (The hammer unit?)
15 Black Guards, Full Command @230 (The Anvil unit? Large at 15 models, could strip 5 for some extra 65 points?)

Rare
Reaper Bolt Thrower @100 (The only thing available that could kill a dragon)

Total: 999pts

The observant people reading this will have realised that I have no magic items or banners. I have intentionally done this for 4 reasons:

Run out of points
Read about new players forgetting they have the extra abilities and wasting the points
Large amount of points for small units, less efficient. Eg 12 DE Warriors cost 99 points and apply a 25 point banner is a quarter of their cost
Don’t really know what items/banners are good.