PDA

View Full Version : Lizardmen rule/tactic question



Necronoxz
01-03-2009, 20:40
Hi all,

I got a few Question's about rulling and tactic's from lizardmen.

Skavepelt Banner (Magic banner)
The unit is subject to Frenzy until defeated in combat. In addition the unit hates all units in the skaven army. skinks only

Since the skink's cant carry a magic banner The only way to use this one is on a skink chief BSB.
Q 1
If i field a skink chief BSB with this banner in a unit of 24 skinks and 3 kroxies does my kroxies also benefit from the Frenzy bonus?
Q 2
If so and I let my skink BSB ride a steggie does my steggie also benefit from the Frenzy bonus?
Q 3
Can I field my skink chief in a unit saurus warior's? and if so does they benefit from the frenzy bonus?

Channelling:
The slan can channel a magic missile spell through any skink priest within 24"

Q 4
If I use a bound spell that release a magic missile Can I also shoot this with channelling trough a skink priest?

Q 5
what will be counsidered with a magic missile? some spells say D6 S4 hit's but they say not they are magic missile's are they or not?

For now that are my Question's I hope some one will give me a usefull answer :) mayby some are already asked here I could not find them I dont have the time for it. so if so Sorry for that!

Leth Shyish'phak
01-03-2009, 20:44
There are no Bound Spells available to Lizardmen that cast magic missiles. If the spell doesn't say that it is a magic missile, then it isn't one.

Necronoxz
01-03-2009, 20:56
There are no Bound Spells available to Lizardmen that cast magic missiles. If the spell doesn't say that it is a magic missile, then it isn't one.

thanks :) that will solve a few question's :)

I dont have the BRB here so I dont know what all the boundspell's would cast ;) that's why I maked that question for example the rod of stom release: uranos thunderbold. and I dont know if that's a magic missile or not ;)

dsw1
01-03-2009, 20:59
From: Ask Your Question (askyourquestion@Games-Workshop.com)
Sent: 19 February 2009 01:24:14
To: *************** (*********************)

Hello,

Yes, they do get frenzy from the banner. Remember that the skink is higher movement than the saurus and may have to charge out of a unit that they cannot reach.



Thanks!



John Spencer

Customer Service Specialist



Please do not delete previous email threads as this will help us serve you better!



Games Workshop

Customer Service

6711 Baymeadow Drive Suite A

Glen Burnie MD 21060



Games Workshop Customer Service is open:

Monday through Friday 9:00 Am to 7:00 PM EST



Contact info:

1-888-248-2335

custserv@games-workshop.com



Or visit us online at:

www.games-workshop.com

From: ***************** [mailto:**********************]
Sent: Friday, February 13, 2009 6:31 AM
To: Ask Your Question
Subject: Rules inquiry.



Greetings,

I have a question about the new lizardmen book, and I was hoping you would be able to help?

If you equip a skink chief Battle Standard Bearer (BSB) with the Skavenpelt banner (gives frenzy) then put the Skink in a unit of saurus warriors, does the unit get Frenzy?

The reason I ask this is because the Item states that only skinks can equip the item, but in it's description doesn't say wheather it can or can't effect none skink models?

Please can you reply to my email as soon as humanly possible.

Many regards and thank you,

This is what I got from the "ask your question" guy, this is as best an answer you will get until the FAQ is released.

Rotokultaxe
01-03-2009, 21:04
As for the skavenpelt banner, the "skinks only" applies to the standard bearer, but not to the unit that gets the frenzy. Otherwise, the wording would say "skinks are subject to frenzy". That's the way I see it, but that's one of the many things in the lizardmen book that needs to be in the faq.

edit: oh ! got ninja'd

Sangria
01-03-2009, 21:05
I believe the "skinks only" rule means that only a skink BSB can carry it.

The banner gives the unit frenzy. If it was meant to be so skink specific it would say "gives all skinks in the unit..."

So according to the rules of the banner and mount's psychology (pg 79 WHFB Rulebook) croxigors and stegadon will be subject to the rules of frenzy and hatred.

According to the channeling rule you can cast magic missiles through skinks. So if your mage priest had a bound spell that casts a magic missile then you could channel it.

As for the rules of magic missiles it's pretty simple. A spell only counts as a magic missile if the spell description specifically states that it is a magic missile.

Necronoxz
01-03-2009, 21:07
thanks all for the answers :D

so the banner effect's the unit and a skink chief can join a unit saurus warior's.

and the magic missile is also clear for me :)

Genrazn
01-03-2009, 21:40
Screw putting the frenzy banner in skinks and kroxigors I would rather have S4 6x6 attacks for a base of 36 attacks! For 6 wide anywho :P

Jericho
01-03-2009, 21:51
It took me a while to figure out what you were talking about Genrazn.

Saurii with spears and the Skavenpelt banner I take it. 3A each, 6 wide, two ranks. The problem is that you don't get the extra 18 attacks if you charge, and you will be forced to charge if in range. My buddy's Savage Orcs w/ spears have the same problem, they are at half effectiveness most of the time.

Anyway, I think the OP's questions have been thoroughly answered so I'm gonna wander away now :)

Necronoxz
01-03-2009, 22:28
@ Genrazn

I already saw that one ;) :D but I want to try everything out :D



new Question:

Can I field a skink priest in a unit skink skirmizers?


dont know how it work with the skirmizers rule ;) and I dont have the BRB atm :(

Genrazn
01-03-2009, 23:36
you can there is nothing stopping you from doing so

Necronoxz
01-03-2009, 23:39
whehehe I know :)

Spirit
02-03-2009, 01:48
..snip..

The banner gives the unit frenzy. If it was meant to be so skink specific it would say "gives all skinks in the unit..."

So according to the rules of the banner and mount's psychology (pg 79 WHFB Rulebook) croxigors and stegadon will be subject to the rules of frenzy and hatred.

..snip..

Sorry what?

Necronoxz
02-03-2009, 10:16
they hate the skaven that's what they ment ;)

dsw1
02-03-2009, 10:20
The real question should be, does the frenzy stay on the unit even after the skink has left the unit? I hope so because I want to move the guy through ALL my saurii units before they get into CC ;)

Genrazn
02-03-2009, 10:27
Most likely the case with witches brew in that sense DSW1 You can make any unit frenzied if the skink bsb starts with the unit.

Atrahasis
02-03-2009, 10:29
The real question should be, does the frenzy stay on the unit even after the skink has left the unit? I hope so because I want to move the guy through ALL my saurii units before they get into CC ;)

You wouldn't keep any other magical effect, why would you keep this one?

Staurikosaurus
02-03-2009, 10:29
Are you for real? No they don't bloody keep frenzy if the BSB leaves. If you've a slaan with MR (3) in a saurus unit and he leaves do they keep MR (3)? Of course not. These are basic rules. From some of your questions I suggest another read of the main rulebook.

I would also suggest looking up basic logic problems (not just for you, for everyone). Questions such as "Can I do X because it doesn't say I can't" are fallacious. It's called begging the question. The rules tell you what a unit is and what they are able to do, NOT what they aren't; all you have to do is read them.