PDA

View Full Version : Getting Back Into Fantasy - Who's the Big Dog Now?

dragonbreath
02-03-2009, 14:34
Used to play Chaos and had a Khorne Army with light and heavy Cav, furies , fleshhounds, chariots, warhounds to provide mobiltiy - 2 characters-light to help with magic resistance and as many warrior units as possible - most armies I was able to give a good tussle - even army=killed a Bretonnian player once

NOW I want to build an Undivided army that allows me to put together 2250 warbands with unidivided, Khorne, Nurgle or Tzeentch or play a combined tournament army.

I went to a small tournament and visited some friends I hadn't seen in almost two years - it was wonderful and i remembered why i started playing the game. but i saw some things that made me think I might not get so many complaints about how cheesy my chaos army is if i play them now

Here's what i saw in 2+ hours

Two Daemon armies - neither seemed like great tacticians but both won handily - one army killed one of my friends playing a solid chaos mortal army and this guy wins quite a few tournaments

two undead/vampire king armies not particlulary hard and the dracula model flitting around the field kind of seems odd like playing hero clix or something

two Tomb kings armies (i like the looks of these armies - i have one almost completely painted) - one friend playing chaos mortals pretty much army killed an inexperience tk player but the other did good

Bretonnians were about to run an Ogre Kingdom army off the table and the ogre player was doing his best to stay out of combat - which seemed like an odd tactic

I like to play well and win games but I prefer to play armies like empire, chaos etc that look like a medieval army. Fantasy armies that look like a psychotic fever dream creep me out. I don't really care though if I lose if play poorly or meet a better tactician or smebody with too much firepower.