PDA

View Full Version : Battle for skull pass box set.

Brother Constantine
06-03-2009, 21:41
I am new to fantasy and I am thinking that the Skull Pass boxed set is probhably the best route to go for starting out. I am currently (slowly) building a Wood Elf army, but I have always had a soft spot for Night Goblins and would not be opposed to playing them in order to learn the game while I build my Asrai.

The way I see it, the boxed set is only $10 more than the rule book and you get all those models and goodies to boot!!!! So why not?! My other option would be to buy a Wood Elf Battalion box set and hold off a while longer on learning how to play......

I was wondering if anyone else has bought the box set for similar reasons to those stated above, and how it all worked out. Were you happy, is the small print rule book usable? etc... I have read on-line reviews but would like to hear your feedback.

Any replies would be muchly appreciated. It is my B-day tomorow and I will have money to spend!!!! :D

stroller
06-03-2009, 21:46
Go for it. The box set is excellent value. The only hazard is...once you start on the night goblins you need more....and more....and oh THAT'S where I left the wood elves....

NAKORN66
06-03-2009, 22:47
The small rulebook was the best thing that ever happened to my Warhammer life. It's easy to browse, easy to carry, easy to read, and most importance of all, it doesn't have the rubbish in it.

Furthermore, the skull pass gives you the easy-to-play night gobbos. You'll love'em.

mrtn
07-03-2009, 01:08
Yes, get the box. I think it has something for a lot of armies, and not just goblins and dwarfs. For example, if you play WoC or BoC you can convert the troll to a chaos troll (or just use it as is). The goblins can be converted to skaven slaves (I have about 40 like this). The cannon could probably be used in an Empire army. And so on. :)

Guardian_A
07-03-2009, 01:19