PDA

View Full Version : ogre lowdown

dreameater
08-03-2009, 14:16
okay I am new to the whole hobby and was wondering if you guys could give me the orge lowdowm thanks.
One more thing can you add hunters to units with his sabertusks

Mozzamanx
08-03-2009, 14:22
The good:

- Extremely high stats on most troops, with even the grunts packing multiple attacks and wounds
- Fast moving
- Extremely cheap fodder units
- Cause Fear
- Very cheap to build an army, in terms of $. The battleforce can make a very nice 1000pt army with 2 minor conversions.

The bad:

- You pay for those stats, with basic infantry costing almost 40pts each. Other armies pay around 8, for a comparison.
- Relatively low WS means your Ogres will miss a lot
- Poor armour saves
- Relatively low leadership makes you vulnerable to panic or breaking

The interesting:

- Your units gain impact hits over a long charge, meaning you can trample models into the dirt before they attack. This can add alot to a fight, though it is unreliable.
- For best results, include a mix of Gnoblars and Ogres. Gnoblars are ungodly cheap, with a unit costing as much as a single Ogre.

OldMan
08-03-2009, 16:25
Ogre Kingdoms are an extremally wea.. err, extremally challenging army to win with. :)
It is also quite a funny army, with sense of humor similar to this in O&G.

If you like that kind of not fully serious army, and you are up to the chalange of leading army from the bottom of rankings than OG are for you.

For the rest, Mozzamanx have given a very good review.

Avian
08-03-2009, 16:36
May I suggest my Ogre Kingdoms Tactics page (http://folk.ntnu.no/tarjeia/avian/subpage.php?s=index_ogre_tactics)?

selone
08-03-2009, 16:42
You just did ;)
I have a soft spot for ogre's as they're a pretty unique army but unique does not necessarily= powerful.

dannyfave
08-03-2009, 17:47