PDA

View Full Version : A complete novice getting into LotR

ProfessorCurly
09-03-2009, 06:27
Greetings all. We were at my local gaming club yesterday, and they were talking about the Lord of the Rings game. Now my dad and I play Fantasy and 40k, and we are wary of getting into another system of models we'll never finish painting. However a friend of ours was adamant about us trying it so we went today and had a game.

I got slaughtered. I had something like:
x1 Urak Captain
x1 Goblin Captain
x9 Urak-hai Crossbows
x8 Urak-hai Scouts
x8 Goblin Prowlers w/ Two handed weapons
x14-ish Urak-hai Warrior
x2 Cave Trolls

Against 8 High Elf archers, 8 Dwarven Archers. x6 Expensive knights of Gondor (winged helmets), x24 Dwarf Warriors.

Approximately. They focused this on a hill where I was. They killed 6 Urak-hai warriors before I got there, and then when the elves got into combat we tried doing the 'life is cheap thing' and shot the crossbows at the elves. Killing three Uraks to one elf. That was a bad decision really, based on the doomsaying of one of my friends about how uber-broken-1337-haxx the Elves are.

By the time we got there there was nothing I could do, being shot to pieces, than charge forward. This resulted in me getting surrounded and destroyed by this mass of dwarves that I just couldn't hurt.

Still. I enjoyed the game. It just wasn't an army I would have made. Though the Urak Captain was a complete bad***. He killed elves, dwarves and men like he was trimming daisies. And he was surrounded the entire time, they killed all his support troops.

However I was talking and I got entranced by the Corsairs of Umbar. Ninja-Pirates? That can apparently have gigantic spiders as allies?

It isn't Velociraptors, but I'll take it!

However I'm not so up on the Spiders just yet. I want to be Umbar primarily for the first bit.