PDA

View Full Version : New to Space Marines

Anton
09-03-2009, 18:18
So, I am new to Warhammer 40k, and am thinking of creating my own Space Marine Chapter. I wonder, is there a fluff reason why a few chapters have their own codices (Dark Angels, Space Wolves, Black Templars etc)? I have read something about Codex chapters and non-Codex chapters. Does it have anything to do with this?

Also, if I intend to make my own chapter with their own background and motives, which Codex should I use? I gather that the generic Codex: Space Marines is intended to be used for this. That's probably what I'll do. But if I wanted, would it be OK to use for example Codex: Black Templars for my own chapter?

Also, is it OK to use Dark Angels or Black Templars upgrade kits for my ordinary Space Marines? I want my chapter to be dressed in robes.

SPYDER68
09-03-2009, 18:27
You can paint them / model them anyway you want, just haft to tell your opponet what marine ruleset your using.

eek107
09-03-2009, 18:40
So, I am new to Warhammer 40k, and am thinking of creating my own Space Marine Chapter. I wonder, is there a fluff reason why a few chapters have their own codices (Dark Angels, Space Wolves, Black Templars etc)? I have read something about Codex chapters and non-Codex chapters. Does it have anything to do with this?

In part, yes. The Black Templars and Space Wolves have a significantly different organisation to chapters that follow the Codex Astartes. In comparison, the Blood Angels and Dark Angels don't deviate nearly as much, but they've had their own codices for a long time.

Also, if I intend to make my own chapter with their own background and motives, which Codex should I use? I gather that the generic Codex: Space Marines is intended to be used for this. That's probably what I'll do. But if I wanted, would it be OK to use for example Codex: Black Templars for my own chapter?