PDA

View Full Version : Viability of the SoC Eshin list (need advice).

Azroth
03-05-2005, 06:34
As I've mentioned before (not that anybody should remember, but still), I have no Fantasy experience whatsoever. It has never really appealed to me before, but that's changing more and more now. I have bought a box of Ogres (and will buy more) just to build and convert some, and have serious thoughts on starting a Fantasy army or two. And frankly speaking, the Storm of Chaos Eshin list looks like a lot of fun, because it's so different to all the other armies. I don't particurarly like the rat models, so it would probably end up being a ninja Gnoblar army or somesuch. I'm just wondering about the list, i.e. the rules.

Is the list viable? Can it be used properly? I don't need to win 90% of my games, it's not about that, but I've heard a lot of people complain that some of the SoC lists are both poorly tested and executed, and I don't want an unplayable list. I want something that is fun and different for both me and my opponent. Any Skaven vets out there feel like commenting on this one? Thanks in advance. Cheers.

EDIT: And most important of all, is a pure skirmish army viable? This seems like the most fun and is what really makes me want to do the list.
-Az

User Name
04-05-2005, 04:00
The pure skirmish army is a viable option but it usually ends up being a pritty boering game of run out of your enemies LoS and shooting at him with slings. Other than that it is a list just like any other with more of a focus on killing enemy charicters.

adreal
04-05-2005, 07:07
oh the eshin list is great, i love it, you can control pretty much the entire game if you know what to do, so :)

Great units: Master assassin, Triad, tunneling teams, eshin sorcerer.
Okay units: gutter runners, assassins, globadiers, rat swarms
average units: night runers, giant rats, can rats, slaves, stormvermin
units you should never ever use: jezzails, plague monks,censer bearers, DoW