PDA

View Full Version : Starting LotR - Where do I start?

devolutionary
12-12-2005, 05:54
OK, I'm looking at starting LotR. But I have no idea where or how to start. What box am I buying? What sort of rule sets are there? What do I need to keep in mind for books/supplements/etc... ?

I'm a complete newbie for LotR, so the more advice, the better! Help appreciated :D

Shadowheart
12-12-2005, 06:33
There's a starter boxed set called Mines of Moria, along the same lines as 40K's Battle for Macragge. But if you're not a total gaming noob and don't want the plastic miniatures (Fellowship, Cave Troll and Goblins) and scenery, you can skip over that.

The Lord of the Rings rulebook (http://uk.games-workshop.com/storefront/store.uk?do=Individual&code=60041499012&orignav=16) is the one you should get. It's got all the rules and profiles you'll need.

You may then want to buy some of the supplements (http://uk.games-workshop.com/storefront/store.uk?do=List_Models&code=301486&orignav=16) for the scenarios they contain. Soon the Shadow in the East supplement will be released as well, which will contain some new profiles not found in the main rulebook.

But that all depends on which scenarios you'll want to play, which forces you're going to collect. While there are rules for tournament-style pitched battles, LotR is at heart a scenario based game. Depending on your preference you can write up army lists and buy the appropriate miniatures (like you would for a Warhammer army), or you can pick certain scenarios and buy the miniatures required to play them. Or of course you can combine the two.

Arguably the best thing about the game is that it's based on The Lord of the Rings, both book and movie. You'll enjoy it most if you're a fan of them, in which case you'll probably have your favourite scenes and characters which will help you chose what to get.

devolutionary
12-12-2005, 06:41