PDA

View Full Version : Old, Ridiculous army lists

hockeyhammer
23-03-2009, 11:04
when i started playing in 3rd ed. I remember facing some ridiculous and obscure forces, like the speed freaks with fighta bomma raids, and alaitoc pathfinder armies that could send half your army into reserve before the start of the game. I'm interested to hear about older and more ridiculous armies that existed before my time. feel free to post any ridiculous old special rules or army lists.

kaptin_blacksquigg
23-03-2009, 11:07
Kroot mercs with 100+ guys that could charge you turn 1 was fairly ridiculous.

Fay_Redd
23-03-2009, 11:10
Well. theres the Space Wolves with there OTT battle leaders, one of my regular opponents has his with frost axe (S5 power weapon) Cyclone Missile Launcher AND Assault Cannon.

Also there is the wolf charm or whatever it is that allows a re-roll of a failed save. now that might not sound like much but he has it on his wolf guard terminator units. Damned near invulnerable.

Last thing, wolf tooth necklace, always hits on 3+. This is on a unit of wolf guard all with power weapons.

the space wolves are just horribly out-of-date compared to what todays army lists are like.

hockeyhammer
23-03-2009, 11:14
Kroot mercs with 100+ guys that could charge you turn 1 was fairly ridiculous.

was that from one of the chapter approved books?

Doppleskanger
23-03-2009, 11:22