PDA

View Full Version : Wood elves are tactically easier to play than Beasts of Chaos

moonlightpines
13-12-2005, 09:37
I know there will be some disagreement with that statement but let me outline why I think it is so.

This is not an army X is better than army Y, or that Wood Elves would beat Beasts were they to play, just that the tactical decisions on the battlefield are easier for a Wood elf general to make as opposed to a Beasts general.

The caveat to the above is that for beginners I feel that Wood Elves would be the tougher army to use, but for experienced generals they are the easier option.

The discussion is regarding Beasts of Chaos (i.e. a Beasts general) with allowed options from Hordes of Chaos.

I have been playing wood elves for 15 years and Beasts for only 6 months so naturally I find wood elves easier to play with, but even so I have come to the conclusion that overall Beasts are a harder army to use tactically.

1. Army composition

Not really to do with ‘tactical’ ability of the army, but a good starting point for the discussion.

There are many ways to build each army but Beasts have:
a) Many more units to choose from
b) Restrictions on composition once General is chosen (Mark Chaos)
c) Ability to choose a range of magic lores
d) Ability to be magic defensive without buying scroll cadies (Khorne)

With all the different army types to play with a Beasts general is more likely to try a wider multitude of options as opposed to a WE general, therefore over the course of the same number of games a WE general will become more focused and adept at using his army.

Since though, there are so many different ways to play with Beasts and an army can be tailored more to a playing style, overall I would say Army Composition comes out:

Slight advantage – Beasts.

2. Ranged attack

Wood Elves now have a very strong ranged attack, no penalty for move-and-shoot with S4 at short range being very powerful.