PDA

View Full Version : how many stegs does it take to make chedder

desert_rat21
25-03-2009, 00:44
im new to warhammer and i have a new small lizardmen army, and am leaning towards going steg heavy. since i do not wish to be cheesy or look like a power gamer and i would like my opponents to have fun playing me, i thought id ask you veterans how many stegs does it take to get cheese (at about 2k) and is a steg heavy list fun to play against. also, since my roommate is a wood elf player, and i would like to play nice, i want to know if he could deal with it without the need to go uber specialized (could a balanced, fun WE list handle it reasonably well)

dwarfhold13
25-03-2009, 00:51
i've wondered this myself.. but an all steggie army seems like it would get beaten up pretty bad just because you would be drastically outnumbered... its hard to say by numbers how it would work.. think certain WE lists, because of skirmishers, will run the all steggie army off the table..
for the new lizards... there is a lot you can do with the book.. but my fav list is one that takes a lord on carnosaur, and two lev 2 priests with 2 scrolls and the diadem.. because the carnie isn't a large target, you can hide it behind skinks.. also in the list, is three units of spear saurus 20 strong.. hard to get rid of and hit very very hard!
have fun with it and let me know how the list works if you do run it!
Jon

Hvidponi
25-03-2009, 01:06
1 engine of the gods, and maybe 2 more... Thats about it...

Bac5665
25-03-2009, 01:08
0. Stegs are sub-optimal. Now, Stegs with characters on them is a different question, and I'd say they are only cheesy when you have multiple EoTGs. Otherwise, they're really not that hard to deal with.

Kerill
25-03-2009, 01:43
Stegadons are very hard to deal with, if you don't want to be cheesey I would say no more than 2 stegadons (and only one EOTG). More than this and your opponent will need to take a tailored list to handle them, which to me is cheese.