PDA

View Full Version : explaining your obessi...err...hobby

mukelnas
25-03-2009, 23:00
this is a situation I find myself in all the time.

when I am out in the world I often meet people, and if I talk to them for more than a few minuets I am often asked, during the course of conversation, "what do you do", or "what do you do for fun", or somthing along those lines.

The vast majority of my time is taken up by "nerdy" passtimes. RPG's comic books, star wars, but mostly 40k. if I can't talk about this stuff I don't have much to talk about. My actual job is meaningless. I work in a stockroom. It is just a paycheck. When people ask what I do I would like to awnser with somthing 40k related, but I find it so dificult to explain to people what 40k is.

I do make money painting minitures on commision,That's what I was telling people for a wile, but even that was too much to explain if they started asking questions.

now I give a half truth, I say I am an artist, sculptor, or painter, but I try not to go into much detail about what I actualy do.

I was wondering how you explain 40k to people you know.

Reaver83
25-03-2009, 23:12
I've told people that I paint toy soldiers in my spare time. But for a long time if me and my flat mate were having girls around we'd hide everything. Now, well if they don't like it more fool them

Azhrarn
25-03-2009, 23:14
It depends on the people I'm trying to explain it too.

Generally I go for the miniature angle, since painting small models is easier to understand, I can elaborate to the battles if needed, but generally just mentioning I paint miniatures for fun satisfies most people. Just makes them curious generally. :D

the1stpip
25-03-2009, 23:15
Yeah, I just tell people I play with toy soldiers. Most are intrigued. If they start giving me abuse, then they weren't worth talking to anyway.

AbyssRaven
25-03-2009, 23:16
I tell people flat out i play MMO's or Paint Minatures (or will, when i get properly restarted into 40k)