PDA

View Full Version : 1500 Points Skaven vs Dwarfs

Sloppyjayman
26-03-2009, 14:03
I will be playing against a good friend of mine this weekend. As I am new to Skaven and he is new to Dwarfs. He will run a typical dwarf army. Hammers, 4 war machines, 20 guns, long beards, clansmen.

This is what I have in store for him:

35 Clanrats w/ full command
35 Clanrats w/ full command
20 Slaves w/ musician
20 Slaves w/ musician
5 Giant Rat Packs (30 Giant Rats, 5 Packmasters)
42 Plague Monks w/ full command, warbanner
5 Jezzails
5 Jezzails
1 Warp Lightning Cannon

Chieftain
Warlock
Warlock

I have about 100 points left. What should I arm my characters with? Is there anything that you see that I should change in the army itself?

Thanks,

Shamfrit
26-03-2009, 14:21
Cheiftain = Warpstone Amulet, Great Weapon, Enchanted Shield

Warlocks both with all upgrades except pistol, one scroll, Storm Daemon and perhaps a Death Globe?

dariakus
26-03-2009, 14:38
Any reason you're running a single unit of 42 plague monks? You'd likely be better off splitting those into two units of 20 and keeping the extra points. Run them 6-7 wide. Rank bonus won't matter much for these guys, but keep them away from longbeards. Make sure they go up against something relatively squishy, like gunners, war machine crews (if possible), or warriors.

Possibly even use them as a hammer unit of sorts. Engage with slaves or clanrats, and then flank charge with plague monks. Easier with two units :) Dwarves are difficult to break with our normal skaven tactics of outnumbering and denying rank bonuses, because of all the Stubborn flying around.

Also, if you're tailoring your list for dwarves at 1500 points, you might want to bring three fully upgraded Warlock Engineers or none at all. He'll have 4 dispel dice out the gate, and more if he's got the right characters. You definitely want the upgrades Shamfrit mentioned, though.

The rest looks good. Are you thinking of using the giant rats as war machine hunters?