PDA

View Full Version : Crew, infantry or other?



drdenner
28-03-2009, 23:01
Does the 2 bodyguards that come with an Anvil of Doom counts as crew or infantry? Can the Dark Elves special character assassin use his hidden setup to replace one of them?

WhyNotCrashDifferently?
28-03-2009, 23:27
"The Anvil and crew count as a unit with a 60mm wide frontage for the purposes of close combat."

That's the only direct reference to them being crew in the bestiary description.

drdenner
28-03-2009, 23:29
So Thorek will be killed in turn 2 against the Dark Elves special assassin, and there is nothing to do about it :(

WhyNotCrashDifferently?
28-03-2009, 23:48
The Anvil "crew" are kinda weird. They're not crew in the sense that they're necessary for the Anvil to function (only the Runelord/Thorek is), and they can't move from the Anvil platform at all. Dunno if they actually count as anything but extra close combat attacks/targets.

I dunno, maybe somebody else has the answer or it's written in a faq somewhere. If Shadowblade can do it though, he's now cheesier than Thorek.

They're referred to as crew a second time:

"The Anvil and crew have a Unit Strength of 5."

jax40kplyr1
30-03-2009, 16:33
I think the Thorek example would be difficult, as would any anvil unit, as Shadowblade's ability lets him replace a 20mm or 25mm model on a normal warmachine. Would a special character/ or character in on an anvil count as a normal warmachine?

theunwantedbeing
30-03-2009, 17:12
In gaming terms the Anvil is a war machine.
-Dwarf armybook, page 30

Shadowblade can hide in an enemy war machine or infantry unit.
-Dark Elf armybook, page 68

So yes, Shadowblade can be hidden on the Anvil.
Sucks if your Thorek but he's cheese anyway and Shadowblade isnt exactly all that scary.

drdenner
30-03-2009, 19:19
theunwantedbeing, so u dont think its scary to lose Thorek turn 2 and there is nothing u can do about it? Thorek is no match against Shadowblade in CC.

theunwantedbeing
30-03-2009, 19:28
No scarier than say....suffering 2d6 st4 hits on d3 units each turn where there is nothing you can do about it.

rottahn
31-03-2009, 03:39
...touche'