PDA

View Full Version : 2,250 High Elf

Nuada
03-04-2009, 14:18
OK i'm completely new to High Elves, but i'd like to start an army of them. I've played against them quite a few times, my HE opponent takes alot of chariots and dragons, so i was after something different. I want to try out an infantry based High Elf army, i prefer this sort of army. At first i didn't intend to take so many multiple units, but that's how it's turned out.

LORD - Prince, GW, Armour Caledor(2+AS) Vambraces Defence(reroll AS, 4+ward save), Talisman Loec (1x/game reroll hits/wnds, then take wnd) - 252
HERO - Mage (lvl 2) , ring fury (pwr lvl3-2d6 str4 magic missile) - 175
HERO - Mage (lvl 2) , dispel scroll x 2 - 175
HERO - Mage (lvl 2) , Jewel Dusk (+1 PD), Staff of Solidity (ignore results 1st miscast) - 170

CORE - 10 archers - 110
CORE - 10 archers - 110

SPEC - 12 Swordmasters (6 wide) , full cmd - War Banner - 230
SPEC - 12 Swordmasters (6 wide) , full cmd - Gem Courage - 220
SPEC - 12 Swordmasters (6 wide) , full cmd - 210
SPEC - 12 Swordmasters (6 wide) , std, mus - 198

x4 RARE - 4 Repeating Bolt Throwers - 400

total = 2,250

72 models (plus 4 RBTs)
8 Deployment
9 PD, plus one bound item pwr lvl 3
5 DD, plus two dispel scrolls

Do you think this stands a chance? I can see it's going to suffer against armies with lots of missile weapons, but i was thinking of taking out those enemy units first (44 shots) with a possible help from curse arrow attraction spell.

So far i've got one High Elf Mage figure, and a High Elf Noble/Prince. I'm at the "planning before i buy" stage. The list looks a bit simple, do you think it's a good idea to take dragon princes instead of 12 swordmasters? I'm a bit reluctant to take Dragon Princes, because i know they attract alot of attention from war machines.

I've never actually used a High Elf army before, so any guidance is appreciated :)

Malorian
03-04-2009, 14:37
Ah, one of these lists ;)